LTE or 4G

Discussion in 'iOS 10' started by rcorai, Apr 11, 2017.

Tags:
  1. rcorai macrumors member

    rcorai

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #1
    Before the last update my phone was showed me LTE signal. Since the last update it shows 4G. Is there any difference between both or is the same?
     
  2. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #2
    Depends on how your carrier treats it. In US at least carriers like AT&T and T-Mobile have what they call "4G" (at least on iOS devices) that is not LTE, and LTE is something that's separate/different. In many other parts of the world on the other hand, 4G usually means LTE.
     
  3. rcorai thread starter macrumors member

    rcorai

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Location:
    Argentina
    #3
    Weird thing is that I use to see LTE and after the last update it shows 4g. I though it was a change on iOS or maybe I forgot to enable LTE support.
     
  4. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #4
    Could be that your carrier updated settings basically. Hard to know for sure without you comparing to some others with the same carrier and/or talking to your carrier perhaps.
     
  5. Chazzle macrumors 6502a

    Chazzle

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2015
    #5
    It is possible that you need to enable LTE on your phone. Check in Settings under Cellular, then Cellular Data Options. There should be an option for enabling LTE. However, like @C DM was alluding to, it's hard to know without having your specific carrier on our phones.
     
  6. SimichOil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    #6
    I got the same issue with my 7 Plus - in Bulgaria. Since i made the update - LTE was changed with 4G !
     
  7. solodogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #7
    I wish the US carriers would show 4G instead of LTE...and go back to 3G for HSPA+
     
  8. Yun0 macrumors 65816

    Yun0

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Location:
    Winnipeg, Canada
    #8
    thats what happens when theres no "standard" like 3g has. in canada we call it "4G LTE", just "LTE" is displayed.

    much like pc motherboards, every brand lists the same bios settings in their own alien lingo...
     
  9. Tech198 macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    Australia, Perth
    #9
    Yep

    Vodafone here in Australia brand it as "4G" Its just a naming not a technology change.

    I don't care if its a standard but many probably do care.. particularly when traveling .., but if its works as expected, who cares whats its called.
     
  10. WaruiKoohii macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Location:
    Boston
    #10
    4G is just 3G, so your phone isn't connecting to LTE for some reason.

    When I updated to iOS 10.3.2 Beta 2, my phone stopped connecting to LTE. I had to toggle airplane mode to fix it...rebooting didn't work.
     
  11. C DM macrumors Westmere

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    #11
    Well, 4G is used for some 3G networks in some places (like US), but it's not that way throughout the world where 4G is mostly (and more appropriately) used for LTE.
     

Share This Page