Lycom DT-125 and RAID 0 question....

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Arhitekt77, Mar 24, 2018.

  1. Arhitekt77 macrumors newbie

    Arhitekt77

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    #1
    Hi there :)

    I would like to know, does Dt-125 Lycom PCIe card, that can carrie 2x M2 "blade" SSD, can support RAID 0 under macOS Sierra ?

    The problem is, that i am looking for non-boot fast PCIe solution for my MacPro 5.1. 2010 2x2.4, and i do not know is this card right solution.

    I have Wings PX1 with Samsung AHCI 951 m2 SSd for boot macOs, and now i am looking for fast PCIe solution for my files....i was looking to buy two Samsung EVo 960 m2 NMVe blades to combine them into RAID 0 over PCIe carrier card.... but i need good and working card :). :)

    If you have better and good PCIe solution that support two M2 ssd disks in RAID 0 i would be glad to know.... :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #2
    I don't think you can install a NVMe SSD onto a SATA card.
     
  3. Arhitekt77 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Arhitekt77

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2018
    #3
    31v1Zlf4F8L.jpg DT-125-2.jpg
    it can support one NMVe ssdisk, now i realised....hm, ..... here is the picture from the other side...
     
  4. zozomester macrumors regular

    zozomester

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Location:
    Hungary
    #4
    There are two Wings PX1 Raid0 in mine and it works.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. XNorth macrumors regular

    XNorth

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #5
    If you want to use two NVMe blades, you will want the Super Micro NVME Card, http://www.supermicro.com/products/accessories/addon/AOC-SLG3-2M2.cfm. Nothing on their site about about Mac support though.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. atonaldenim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    #6
    Has anyone gotten this Supermicro card or anything else at a similar price point to run two M.2 SSDs in one PCIe slot?

    [EDIT] Guessing not, Amazon reviews say this card requires PCIe Bifurcation which I don't think Mac Pro supports.
     
  7. jscipione macrumors member

    jscipione

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #7
    Quad SM951 256GB AHCI [0] on Amfelteck in RAID 0 HFS+ on macOS HIGH Sierra 4000MB/s read and write [1]. Works on Mac Pro 5,1 no kernel panics or instability. DriveDX says they run a little hot at 78C, TRIM support oob. Mac OS updates hang at grey bar Calculating Time Remaining... and APFS RAID 0 boot support is non-existent.

    [0] https://i.imgur.com/m2G64KO.jpg
    [1] https://i.imgur.com/ZvlLfoZ.png
     
  8. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    I found that OS update stuck may be due to verification issue.

    No idea why, but I can easily install / upgrade Sierra or any previous OS. But may stuck when install / upgrade High Sierra (since 10.13.4), log shows infinite loop due to verification issue.

    And I can actually overcome the issue by simply changing network (weird enough, I actually fixed the issue by moving from cable network to wifi, which should be less reliable)
     
  9. XNorth macrumors regular

    XNorth

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2018
    Location:
    United States
    #9
    Updating or installing High Sierra directly on a RAID? It can’t be done, not supported. It’s only possible on a non-RAID drive, then clone it to the RAID. To update a HS RAID, clone it to a non-RAID drive, update HS on the non-RAID, then clone it back to the RAID.
     
  10. atonaldenim macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2018
    #10
    I'm really curious about this card: QNAP QM2-4P-284

    PCIe 2.0 x8 4-slot NVMe card with PCI switch - $219 MSRP, retails as low as $179

    According to this blog they include a PCIe switch which Mac Pro needs, and there's a range of these cards including PCIe 3.0 x4 and x8 options. They're intended for a line of NAS devices from QNAP. Could not find any information about them being used in a Mac or Windows computer.

    Anyone want to test it out?

    Available from several retailers and from QNAP...

    [​IMG]
     
  11. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #11
    So, are there any issues updating to an individual SSD installed on the Amfeltech? In other words, this OS update getting stuck is related to HFS+ Raid0 rather thanthe Amfeltech?
     
  12. handheldgames, Jun 14, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018

    handheldgames macrumors 68000

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #12
    Great find. Nice cooling design.
    @x8. Max read/write of 3000MB/sec.
    Adds m.2 PCIe storage to one slot for competitive prices.
    Another great upgrade to keep the Mac Pro relevant.

    Not sure if I’m up for pulling the trigger on one. I’m already running a Squiid. Perhaps it’s time to sell it on eBay along with the 4 sm951s that have been gathering dust.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2018 ---
    In high Sierra, Software Raid 0 drives are not installable or updatable. One has to copy a pre-installed system to the raid. And copy it off of the raid for updating. Then to be copied back to the raid...

    Another option is to run a VM of MacOS from the raid0. Although a Ramdisk would be much faster.
    --- Post Merged, Jun 14, 2018 ---
    A bit overpriced at 349. That the same as the squiid with 4 m.2 slots.
     
  13. crjackson2134, Jun 14, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018

    crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #13
    Wondering why the Squid is gathering dust. Nevermind, the Squid isn’t gather dust. The SM951s are. I’ve been on the rode for 2 days. I guess I’m a little slow [as usual].

    I’m about to get one, as soon as I can determine it doesn’t suffer the long boot delay as the regular pass through cards. Amfeltech has increased price by roughly $100 as to compared to the 1st time I was considering, so I don’t want to wait too long.
     
  14. handheldgames macrumors 68000

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #14
    I haven’t had a direct need for the Squid with 4x sm951’s, so they have been sitting on the bench. For my workflow, the performance of a raid0 ramdisk is a great balance of cost/performance.

    Last week I used one Sm951 in AHCI head to head test with the 970pro NVMe, despite the differences both drives had identical boot times.
     
  15. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #15
    I see,

    Well as you know, a fast boot can/does occur with the ACHI on a passthrough card in slot 2 (albeit with reduced transfer speeds), and slow boot occurs on slot 3/4.

    Does the Amfeltech maintain the fast boot when placed in slot 2 and also enable x4 transfer speeds, or does the presence of the PLX cause slow boot on Slot2 just like 3/4?

    This is the only thing preventing me from making up my mind on the thing. I don't want to introduce slow booting back to Slot 2. A query to Amfeltec yielded me no information on that aspect. They have contacted me multiple times to encourage the purchase, but I can't seem to get that one question answered.
     
  16. jscipione macrumors member

    jscipione

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2017
    #16
    I don't know this, what is fast boot? I have the aforementioned Amfeltec card in slot 2 and I also have a Kingston Predator SSD in slot 3 OR slot 4. Boot speed seems about the same either way. It takes around 10-11s before the machine even POSTs and chimes.

    The card in slot 2 shows as 4 x4 PCIe 2.0 interfaces which is the output of the PLX bridge. I haven't tried the card in slot 3 or 4 but I assume it would show 4 x1 PCIe 2.0 connections since it 3/4 are x4 slot. I did read in another thread that PCIe 3.0 devices can negotiate a PCIe 1.1 connection in slot 2.

    "x16 is a better slot for x8 or x16 card, but won't help anything for a x4 card. However, due to some unknown reason. For PCIe 3.0 card, if installed in slot 1 or 2. It may unable to negotiate at the correct PCIe 2.0 speed, but fall back to PCIe 1.1 speed.

    If you install the card in slot 3. Since the card now is connected via a PCIe switch (slot 3 and 4 share use the same x4 lane), the switch make it able to correctly negotiate at PCIe 2.0 speed."

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...classic-mac-pro.1501482/page-80#post-26039174

    None of that applies in this case since I have the PCIe 2.0 version of the card and even if I had the 3.0 version the card includes a PLX bridge of it's own anyway which would negotiate at PCIe 2.0 speed"

    What slow booting?
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    Should be still PCIe 2.0 X4.

    The idea of using switch is to switch the available bandwidth automatically to the demanding device in real time. But not evenly share the bandwidth to all connected device.
     
  18. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    #18
    Okay, so if it chimes in a few seconds and starts booting quickly to reach desktop by 20-30 seconds that is a normal fast boot by my terms.

    If booting to desktop takes 50+ seconds to boot, that is delayed abnormally and I call this a slow boot.

    It sounds like the Amfeltech installed in Slot 2 boots normally and has no abnormal delay. This is the behavior I’m seeking.
     
  19. sirroderick macrumors newbie

    sirroderick

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Location:
    London
    #19
    --- Post Merged, Jun 24, 2018 ---
    According to the UK suppliers these cards would need custom drivers to work with Mac Pros.
     
  20. sirroderick macrumors newbie

    sirroderick

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Location:
    London
    #20
    I've just installed a DT-125 with 2x 2TB 860 EVO M.2 blades in my 2010 MacPro and Disk Utility can't see them. Any ideas? I was planning to use them in a RAID0 config.
     
  21. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #21
    Did you connect the SATA cable?
     
  22. sirroderick macrumors newbie

    sirroderick

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Location:
    London
    #22
    Oh? connect it to what? sorry to sound like a moron but in this instance I probably am.
    --- Post Merged, Aug 30, 2018 ---
    Does that mean it's limited to SATAII speed? Ouch! I've just wasted a load of money.
     
  23. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #23
    860 Evo is a SATA SSD, regardless what form factor it is. It still need a SATA cotnroller to work with.

    DT-125 is nothing more than an adaptor, no controller onboard. And as you can see from the original post, there is a SATA connector on the card. You have to connect that to a SATA port on the MB (motherboard) to use the SATA SSD.

    If you connect that to one of the native SATA II port, then yes, you will be limited to SATA II speed.
     
  24. sirroderick macrumors newbie

    sirroderick

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Location:
    London
    #24
    That would make this slower than 4x 1TB mechanical drives in RAID0 (and 3x the price). Bad mistake.
    Before I waste any more money can someone advise what is the most cost effective way of using the 1.5 GB/sec of available bandwidth on the x4 slots of a MacPro 5,1. NVME's seem to be overkill in this context.
     
  25. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #25
    But what you are asking for is exactly the NVMe SSD.
     

Share This Page