Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ipedro

macrumors 603
Original poster
Nov 30, 2004
Toronto, ON
I was impressed with my nearly maxed out MacBookPro M1 Pro Max 32GB. It was the fastest computer I'd ever used and I felt like nothing I could throw at it could slow it down. Truly felt invincible. 6 months in, and I'm getting spinning beachballs everywhere and using my $5000 Mac feels like sludge sometimes.

Anyone else experiencing this? I'm a photographer and graphic designer so on any given day, I have Lightroom, Photoshop and Illustrator running along with a litany of Chrome tabs with Google Workspace apps. That's essentially it. If I want to run FinalCutPro, I usually close everything else. My 2TB SDD is only 25% full.

Yet, my 6 month old Mac feels like a geriatric PC that I'd been using for years.

Add to that the increasingly complained about pops and scratches which make the onboard speakers unusable, and I'm not sure this Mac lives up to early reviews, including my own.

Hoping for a new macOS to smooth things out soon.

theorist9

macrumors 68040
May 28, 2015
Just as an experiment, since your disk is only 25% full, you could create a new partition (back everything up first) (you want to do a new partition rather than a new volume, to keep it completely separate), do a clean install of both the OS and the single app that's giving you the biggest delay, and see how it goes.

If your delays are with routine interaction, i.e., if the machine is less snappy and gives you beachballs, that's hard to meaasure. But if you have longer measurable times (e.g., for an export, or some other process that takes at least several seconds), that would be a good thing to check.

Reactions: acorntoy

Starfia

macrumors 6502a
Apr 11, 2011