Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JamesR106

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 11, 2023
I'm a professional photographer, guidebook writer and video editor looking at finally upgrading my MacBook Pro. Currently torn between the:

M3 Max with 14-core CPU/30-core GPU with 96GB of RAM, or 16-core CPU/40-core GPU with 64GB of RAM?

The price difference between these two configurations is negligible. Any thoughts on which would offer me better performance? I do lots of 4k video editing and my Lightroom catalogue has just over half a million images stored on a NAS.

I keep swinging between the two... Looking to future proof my laptop for at least the next five years. I use a MBP as my daily driver for everything.

Thanks for any help in advance!

Reactions: MikeX3 and majida

Ben J.

macrumors 6502a
Aug 29, 2019
Oslo
My initial reaction is; get the 96 GB ram.

I'm thinking; two extra cpu cores, what do you get?
Very slightly faster multicore performance. That's a few seconds faster render, export operations etc.
32Gb extra ram, you get to run more stuff simultaneously, ram-hungry applications will run better because they have more room to work, with a 'higher ceiling' in memory.

Nothing scientific, just my thoughts.

majida

macrumors newbie
Nov 19, 2023
I'm a professional photographer, guidebook writer and video editor looking at finally upgrading my MacBook Pro. Currently torn between the:

M3 Max with 14-core CPU/30-core GPU with 96GB of RAM, or 16-core CPU/40-core GPU with 64GB of RAM?

The price difference between these two configurations is negligible. Any thoughts on which would offer me better performance? I do lots of 4k video editing and my Lightroom catalogue has just over half a million images stored on a NAS.

I keep swinging between the two... Looking to future proof my laptop for at least the next five years. I use a MBP as my daily driver for everything.