M8 chip/fitness not working?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Newtons Apple, Sep 20, 2014.

  1. Newtons Apple macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #1
    I might be missing something but nothing what so ever is being tracked in my fitness checker. No steps, calories, etc. Nothing.

    Am I doing something wrong?
     
  2. MagnusF macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    #2
    What fitness checker? Did you allow access?
     
  3. Mansu944 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    #3
    I don't think there are any devices out yet compatible with it....but I do not know for sure. I do know the apps they pulled won't be out until next month now.
     
  4. Newtons Apple thread starter macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #4
    I agree but some people ARE getting data like "steps" recorded.

    Mine, nothing.
     
  5. BD1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #5
    Doesn't seem to be working. Health app was showing recorded steps on my 5s but not on my 6.
     
  6. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    you have to go into the health app. click health data/fitness/steps/ show on dashboard. turn it on so its green. Do the same with walking and distance. Then look in dashboard
     
  7. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #7
    and also for Flights climbed. I'm getting data like this.
     
  8. Newtons Apple thread starter macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #8
    I have already toggled steps, calories, etc to show on the dashboard but no data is being recorded what so ever on any of them.
     
  9. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #9
    Start walking and it'll show them eventually.
     
  10. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I have no data showing for that or anything else other than "steps, walking + running distance" :mad:
     
  11. Newtons Apple thread starter macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #11
    I have both waled and run over three miles today. How far must I go?:rolleyes:
     
  12. Zxxv Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    privacy/system settings/motion calibration

    whats this? mine is on. I didn't have it in ios7. Not that I remember.
     
  13. iPhoney Baloney macrumors member

    iPhoney Baloney

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    #13
    Thanks for that.:cool: I was pulling my hair out trying to figure out how it works.
     
  14. tazdevl macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    #14

    My iPhone 6 is tracking steps in the health app. Just opened the app and data noticed was being recorded.

    Does it make sense to report 6 vs 6+ to see if it's enabled on one vs the other?
     
  15. batting1000 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #15
    Are you sure you have the data turned on to have it show on the dashboard?
     
  16. bobdigi macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    #16
    I'm getting steps taken, flights climbed, and distance walked/ran on my 6.
     
  17. Chupa Chupa macrumors G5

    Chupa Chupa

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2002
    #17
  18. OneMike macrumors 603

    OneMike

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    #18
    weird, pretty accurate for me
     
  19. Tyler23 macrumors 603

    Tyler23

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #19
    Try a hard reset. That got it going for me.
     
  20. DrewDaHilp1 macrumors 6502a

    DrewDaHilp1

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    All Your Memes Are Belong to US
    #20
    Mine showed data from yesterday but not today. I had health app on my old phone, shut it off checked new phone and it showed today's data. So try shutting off old device and steps should/might show.
     
  21. tekchic macrumors 65816

    tekchic

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #21
    Mine was accurate. I had it in my pack for a six mile trail run this morning and it had me at 7 miles and change (counting usage before, getting to the trail, etc).

    Curious to see how it tracks cycling tomorrow.
     
  22. jtp098 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    Purchase
    #22
    Hmm i hope mine gets more accurate haha. Did 10.5 mile run this am and it recoreded 8.69. Bit random

    ----------

    On another not i cant wait to see what is compatible to use to track everything.. Makes me want to go out and get a machine that measures my blood haha
     
  23. Newtons Apple thread starter macrumors P6

    Newtons Apple

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2014
    Location:
    Jacksonville, Florida
    #23
    I have five things showing on the dashboard all read zero.
     
  24. bsteels, Sep 20, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2014

    bsteels macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2014
    #24
    Resolved!

    So glad someone else is experiencing this! Thought maybe it was just me, or that I was going crazy.

    Same exact problem. Everything is configured as it should be (as far as I know). Have triple verified. Have made sure everything suggested here is on/enabled or has been tried.

    My iPhone 5s was showing my steps no problem. Had been around 5,000 steps per day over the last week. Then I switched to my 6 yesterday and it shows 21 steps. Today: 0 steps. Even though I took several long walks with my phone in my pocket. Same exact kinds of walks I had been taking with my 5s.

    Getting really frustrated! The elevation stats aren't being recorded either.

    Did I get a faulty M8 chip?

    EDIT:
    Ok, so immediately after posting, the issue has resolved and it populated data for today. I'm not sure what fixed it (or if it's permanently fixed) but steps I took right before it was fixed were:

    - Hard reset (again)
    - Settings, iCloud, Share My Location, On, From: This Device (it had previously been set to my iPad)
    - Settings, Privacy, Location Services, System Services, Motion Calibration (was on, toggled off and then back on)
    - Hard reset (yet again)
    - Health, shake my device over and over to simulate steps to see if anything would happen
    - Boom, steps data appeared.
     
  25. AutoUnion39 macrumors 601

    AutoUnion39

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #25
    Yeah. Mines not working either. I'll enable everything again and give it a few days.
     

Share This Page