Mac book pro 2015 charger

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Alexrat1996, May 26, 2018.

  1. Alexrat1996 macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #1
    Apple did a repair on my MacBook Pro the charging port I see a gap what should I do ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Patcell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #3
    My advice would be to take it back to Apple if they recently did the repair.
     
  3. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #4
    Do Apple replace laptops
     
  4. TiggrToo macrumors demi-goddess

    TiggrToo

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2017
    Location:
    Out there...way out there
    #5
    If they did the repair then there's a warranty on that work. If they created an issue then it's up to them to fix it. Not saying you should get a new Macbook, just that they should make it right.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #6
    If you had the repair done at an Apple Store, take it back and ask someone at the genius bar to check the alignment of the replacement part in the case.

    Question:
    Does it still charge properly when you use the MagSafe connector?
     
  6. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #7
    Yes it charges and I did talk to senior advisor over the phone there contacting my store at 11 am est and will call me back before going to my 5:40 pm apt
     
  7. Patcell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #8
    This exactly.

    Apple will replace a laptop, but generally as a last resort. I can almost assure you that they will not replace the machine in this case, but they will correct the problem for you.
     
  8. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #9
    They are replacing my laptop with the same one sealed in box with the option of me getting apple care
     
  9. Patcell macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Location:
    Bergen County, NJ
    #10
    You lucked out! Congrats!
     
  10. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #11
    How does Apple have same laptop I have in stock
     
  11. jerryk, May 28, 2018
    Last edited: May 28, 2018

    jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #12
    What is your Model #? If it is a base 2015 15" MBP without dGPU, that is
    • 2.2GHz quad-core Intel Core i7 processor
    • Turbo Boost up to 3.4GHz
    • 16GB 1600MHz memory
    • 256GB SSD storage
    • Intel Iris Pro Graphics
    • Two Thunderbolt 2 ports
    Then they still sell them and may have them in stock. It if is something else they may replace it with a refurb with same or better configuration.

    Another option they may offer you is a new 2016/2017 15" MBP. I am not sure I would take if you had a 2015 15" because of potential for keyboard failure down the road.
     
  12. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #13

    13 inch

    i7

    128 GB ssd

    8GB ram

    2015 13 inch
     
  13. jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #14
    Then they will probably offer you a 2016 or 2017 13" model
     
  14. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #15
    They told me they have same one in stock 2015 model 13 inch strange
     
  15. jerryk, May 28, 2018
    Last edited: May 28, 2018

    jerryk macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Location:
    SF Bay Area
    #16
    That is strange. Pretty old stock. I assumed Apple stores shipped theirs back in 2016 or so
     
  16. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #17
    Sealed in box idk though
     
  17. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
  18. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #19
    Sealed in the box and option to buy Apple care plus
     
  19. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #20
    Yes, I believe refurbs are considered to be like new and so are eligible for AppleCare.....
     
  20. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #21
    Then why can’t I do an express replacement on my laptop
     
  21. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
  22. hallux macrumors 68030

    hallux

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    #23
    Seems very odd that they're replacing that system. That should take all of about 5 minutes to fix and could even be done right in front of you if they REALLY wanted, it only requires 2 screwdrivers...
     
  23. Alexrat1996 thread starter macrumors 68030

    Alexrat1996

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2015
    Location:
    Lehigh valley PA
    #24
    She saw case history they want to swap it.
     
  24. PhoneMe1 Suspended

    PhoneMe1

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    #25
    Refurb for sure, will have problems with it too.
     

Share This Page