Mac G4 newbie

Maniakul

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2007
Hello, i got today a Mac G4 with 768 Memory of RAM, 30giga IBM 5400 RMP, ATI Rage Pro 128 and 400 mhz i belive but im not sure about CPU. Im really excited about this but i got no ideea how to instal an OS and what OS i can run on this Mac since im a real noob to mac because im a windows user since like ever so i dont have any os on the mac. Anyway i intend to use this computer for internet mostly just surfing chatting and basic stuff nothing much. Need some serious help please.

iToaster

macrumors 68000
May 3, 2007
In front of my MacBook Pro
You don't have an operating system on it? If not, go buy a copy of os x Tiger now, along with iLife (and iWork if you feel like it). Install Tiger (put the disk in the tray, close it, and restart holding down the "C" key until you get a menu... proceed from there. Then insert the iLife disk and install all that once you get set up. There, you're ready to go... though the G4 is old, it's good... so good luck.

Maniakul

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2007
Ok, but some guy said i have to do a firmware update before i can instal an OS, how do i do that?:)

Frisco

macrumors 68020
Sep 24, 2002
Utopia
Ok, but some guy said i have to do a firmware update before i can instal an OS, how do i do that?:)
What model do you have? An old PowerMac?

Some older Macs do require a firmware upgrade before upgrading to OS X. Here is the list.

The problem for you is-if you require a firmware upgrade you will have to already have an OS on your computer to perform the firmware upgrade. Either OS 8 or OS 9.

Maniakul

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 8, 2007
Its 400 mhz 768 ram 30 giga 128 ati rage pro and a G4 box. Dunno if its that old and if its require a firmware. But i can instal mac os 9 and do the firmware then instal mac os tiger 10.4.10?

shu82

macrumors 6502a
Jan 10, 2007
Rocket City, AL