Mac G4 newbie

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Maniakul, Aug 8, 2007.

1. Maniakul macrumors newbie

Hello, i got today a Mac G4 with 768 Memory of RAM, 30giga IBM 5400 RMP, ATI Rage Pro 128 and 400 mhz i belive but im not sure about CPU. Im really excited about this but i got no ideea how to instal an OS and what OS i can run on this Mac since im a real noob to mac because im a windows user since like ever so i dont have any os on the mac. Anyway i intend to use this computer for internet mostly just surfing chatting and basic stuff nothing much. Need some serious help please.

2. Maniakul thread starter macrumors newbie

3. Frisco macrumors 68020

You need to get Mac OS X Tiger (recommended). What OS is on there now?

4. Gee macrumors 65816

What stuff does it currently have installed? I would have a play with it in its current state for a few weeks before deciding whether you want to upgrade/update anything.

5. Maniakul thread starter macrumors newbie

i don't have nothing instanced, hard drive is empty.

6. iToaster macrumors 68000

iToaster

You don't have an operating system on it? If not, go buy a copy of os x Tiger now, along with iLife (and iWork if you feel like it). Install Tiger (put the disk in the tray, close it, and restart holding down the "C" key until you get a menu... proceed from there. Then insert the iLife disk and install all that once you get set up. There, you're ready to go... though the G4 is old, it's good... so good luck.

7. Maniakul thread starter macrumors newbie

Ok, but some guy said i have to do a firmware update before i can instal an OS, how do i do that?:)

8. Frisco macrumors 68020

What model do you have? An old PowerMac?

Some older Macs do require a firmware upgrade before upgrading to OS X. Here is the list.

The problem for you is-if you require a firmware upgrade you will have to already have an OS on your computer to perform the firmware upgrade. Either OS 8 or OS 9.