Mac mini 2010 16GB?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by evilclaw2321, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. evilclaw2321 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #1
    So I have a mac mini mid 2010 version 2.4 GHz intel core 2. I currently have two 4 gb sticks of ram in it and I'm told that its maxed. But does anyone know it its at all possible to actually put like 8 GBs or an 8 and 4 gb? I really don't know much about this stuff or how it works but I would like to add more if possible.
     
  2. mdgm macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    #2
    No. 8GB (2x4GB) is the limit. You need a 2011 Mini to use 16GB.
     
  3. saulinpa macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
  4. RoyQ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Location:
    Taiwan
    #4
  5. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #5
    Says you did it with mountain lion.
    Your machine is the first machine I have seen with 16gb.

    Did it work in lion?
     
  6. RoyQ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Location:
    Taiwan
    #6
    Never got any chance to try it on Lion for when I FINALLY got these rare little things (1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM 8GBx2), I had already upgraded to ML from Lion for weeks.
    But a friend who too got these modules has no problem with them under OS X Server 10.6.8.
    Guess they work on Lion too.:D
     
  7. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #7
    Not on the OP's model. The maximum RAM is 8GB on that model. While you may be able to install more RAM, the system will only use a maximum of 8GB.

    You can find specs on all Apple products, including maximum RAM:
     
  8. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    WOW
    very interesting to see that 10,12 and 16GB seem to work for some people in the 2010 MacMini.
    I presume more then 8GB should also work in the 2010 15" and 17" MBP's aswell. Maybe at one point I will give that a try :)
     
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    8GB definitely works. As for the claims about more, either those claiming that are mistaken about which model they have (it happens frequently) or they have more installed, but Mac OS X is not actually using the extra RAM. This has happened a lot over the years. System Profiler will show more RAM installed, but Activity Monitor shows a smaller amount is actually being used.
     
  10. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #10
    Well those pictures from the chinese site certainly show that 16GB are available in the Activity monitor.
    I am a little skeptic about the more then 8Gb but it appears to be a recent thing since mountain lion. So makes sense it just now being discovered
     
  11. RoyQ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Location:
    Taiwan
    #11
    To me, the key point is that "Is there memory modules of specific spec available?" instead of New OS.
    I've been searching for them for quite a long time since I was on Lion. Only until recently, I finally found a local manufacturer here in Taiwan (not China) that targets industrial clients selling memory modules of the exact spec that I had been looking for.
    I then visited that company and tried their products on my machine and, voila!, 16GB for me to use.
    I passed this information to many friends owning different models but the same needs and the conclusion is as what I declared at the beginning: 16GB works on Mac mini/Mac mini Server (Mid 2010) and Macbook Pro 13" (2010).
     
  12. markh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #12
    I can verify that 16GB of RAM works in a Mid 2010 Mac Mini. Recently did this myself. OSX 10.8 reports 16GB and uses all of it. Ended up getting 2 x 8GB muskin branded RAM.
     
  13. monkeybagel macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Location:
    United States
    #13
    I have read reports of people getting 12GB to work, but failed on 16GB. It seems that there are several different reports. The only way to know on your machine would be to try two 8s and see what happens.

    For the person that is running 16GB, are you running the EFI Update that enabled Lion Internet Recovery?
     
  14. markh macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    Location:
    Canberra, Australia
    #14
    Yep, did do the update to enable Internet recovery for the EFI. This is the ram got

    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Mushkin-...Memory_RAM_&hash=item257490948d#ht_2039wt_764
     
  15. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #15
    I am going to purchase an 8GB stick soon and try out 12GB in my 2010 15" i7 MBP. I will report back soon. Would be awesome if it works :)
     
  16. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #16
    Got 16gbs running in my Mac Mini 2010 Server running 10.6.8
     
  17. The-Pro, Oct 5, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012

    The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #17
    Well I ordered Corsair 16GB 204pin 1333MHz Memory kit.
    Sadly it does not work in my 2010 15" i7 MBP. It gives me all kinds of messages at the apple logo when both 8GB sticks are installed. When one is installed it kind of starts up but always hangs at different stages. Once it booted up all the way but after 5 seconds on the desktop it froze and restarted.

    It also does not boot when my "old" 4GB 1333MHz samsung stick and a new 8GB is installed, gives me the messages aswell, see pic below.
    I tried all kinds of combinations etc, nothing makes it work.
    I am going to return the RAM to amazon and maybe purchase the Mushkin 1066MHz one that a previous poster mentioned. Ill see

    I may try the RAM out on a 2010 Mac Mini 2.4 Ghz and a 2009 17" MBP over the weekend. I doubt it will work though.
     

    Attached Files:

  18. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #18
    you need 1066 ram not 1333. the older macs you have want 1066 if you drop in 1333 sometimes they can downclock and work most of the times for 2010 minis they don't work. so you would need to find 1066 ram.


    1066 ram is the same as pc3-8500.

    1333 ram is the same as pc3-10660 ram.


    if you look at the first ram it is easy to see the very common mistake

    made. people see the 1066mhz and think it is pc3-10660 so they go and buy 1333mhz ram. then many times it does not work since the computer has the added job of downclocking the faster ram.
     
  19. The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #19
    I purchased the 1333MHz because I have 1333MHz installed currently in my 2010 i7 MBP and 2009 17" MBP. I also purchased that one because it was directly through amazon which means I am able to send it back for a full refund simply.
    The mushkin 1066Mhz is sold through another person, and I didn't want to risk them not taking it back incase it does not work. Maybe ill buy that one.
    I have to tell people what you told me now all the time aswell :D
    Thanks anyway :)
     
  20. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #20
    well no harm done. since you know the when in doubt use amazon trick. I just returned a small coby tv yesterday it was 99 bucks and I needed a small cheap monitor for a pc that is almost never used. the pc runs 24/7 and once in a while I need to check if it works okay. well the coby tv did not do the job and I returned it to amazon yesterday.
     
  21. The-Pro, Oct 5, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012

    The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #21
    haha nice. Amazon is amazing :D
    I had purchased a portable dvd player a couple years back, it broke on a trip, just stopped reading dvd's. I sent it back to amazon and they refunded me the money completely. Absolutely great :)

    ----------

    Awesome :)
    What brand and specs does the RAM have?
     
  22. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #22
    It's the Muskin 1066... or whatever was said by the poster above. Surprised that there was NO problems at all, just drop it in and go.
     
  23. The-Pro, Oct 5, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012

    The-Pro macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #23
    Well im definitely going to order that one then. Should've taken that one from the start :D
     
  24. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #24
    My mini wasn't really slow before but now much perkier.
     
  25. mwhities, Oct 5, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012

    mwhities macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Location:
    Mississippi
    #25
    Wait until you put that SSD drive in. My 09 mac mini FLIES.
     

Share This Page