Mac Mini 3.3GB of RAM

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by nickn, Aug 8, 2012.

  1. nickn, Aug 8, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2012

    nickn macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #1
    Long story short, my Macmini2,1 from 2007 is no longer a viable option for me to use with the stock 1GB installed. I need to upgrade my RAM, which is where my question is at. According to the web, I could install two 4GB sticks, and my machine would be able to use 3.3GB of that. According to a few posts I have read though, apparently, if I actually fill the entire 3.3GB, my computer may have a kernel panic. Is this true? I want speed, but not at the risk of crashing!
    Thanks!
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    That is not true. Neither my MacMini 2,1 (once 1,1) nor may Macbook2,1 kernel panic when the ram starts to become full.
     
  3. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #3
    I've never seen this happen with my 2006 minis (same board and upgraded CPUs). Not sure where you saw this but my guess is bad ram and not anything to do with hitting the Mac amount of ram
     
  4. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #4
    why 2x 4gb .

    you need 2x 2gb

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820146697

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148201

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820178166




    take your pick.

    if you open the machine and put in the ram consider a hdd upgrade


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136856


    I MUST have put 4gb ram and this drive into 20 minis like yours a few years back.
     
  5. nickn thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    #5
    Thanks for the info everyone! Also, one other question I forgot to ask, is if I buy 2x2GB chips that support dual channel memory, can I still take advantage of the dual channel capabilities, even though my machine can only address 3.3GB of the 4GB total?




    Thanks! I meant 2x2, not 2x4.
     
  6. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #6
    Yes.

    MR Guide to Matched RAM on Intel Macs
     

Share This Page