Mac Mini Intel Core Solo on 2012

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by EgEm, Apr 8, 2012.

  1. EgEm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Mexico
    #1
    Hi good day.

    I´ve been thinking a lot about getting another Mac -mostly, because my laptop (Macbook pro 15") works ok, but i dont want to leave it all night doing backups from web servers and other bulk actions-.

    Im getting a Mac Mini for $150 bucks, intel core solo and 512MB RAM.

    Im thinking about upgrading it to 2GB of RAM. idk if i want to upgrade the hard drive -i could make the backups on External Hard Drivers- but i want to know if its ok to purchase this computer for what i want.

    for what im going to use this computer is basically:
    - Web server backups (i have tons of sites and i need a backup of every site at least 1 every month)
    - All purpouse backup: as me and my team we´re working on iOS projects right now, i would love to use this computer to make it the place where everyone could store the graphics and coding files (were just like 3 people).
    - Keep it all night and all day turn on: basically for the web backups.
    - Web coding and iOS Coding: and sometimes i would just like to use it :p for what i do, Corona SDK scripts, web coding and basic photoshop, nothing fancy...

    :( thank you in advance!
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    They're still great machine. But I'd suggest upgrading its CPU to a C2D. You'll double or triple its speed and usability. And be able to use 64-bit apps and run Lion on it if you do.
     
  3. namelessme macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    #3
    For iOS coding, what is the min. supported OS?

    Just wondering if it requires Lion (and soon Mountain Lion)? If so, the core solo may not be compatible. Again, not sure about that, and $150 is a great price. But if you want to do a iOS stuff, best to check that.
     
  4. lilsoccakid74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #4
    I would say that replacing that core solo with a core2duo would being a HUGE performance difference. I could be wrong, but I believe that I could survive running on a c2d, but a solo would probably end up with me punching the screen:D

    Honestly, I think that the best value in the long run is to save up 500ish for a 2011 mini refurb. This mini in particular had a very large performance bump, mainly with its i5 cpu's), and the difference between my 2009 and 2011 are insane!

    Personally, I would rather spend the larger amount up front. The wallet may hurt temporarily, but paying that much for a machine that can easily last 5+ years can actually save you cash in the long run. Also, I can put a price on being able to use a nicely spec'd machine that won't give me headaches!:)


    Good luck, and I hope this helped give you some thoughts!
     
  5. Poki macrumors 65816

    Poki

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    #5
    The problem areas are Photoshop and xCode. xCode is pretty power hungry (and if it's just for the iOS simulator) and you probably won't be able to create bigger photoshop files (I'd say you should be fine up to 1024x1024, but you have to try it to make sure).
     
  6. EgEm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Mexico
    #6
    Thanks for all the comments :)!!

    I know it's always 100 times better to purchase a newer version obviously in terms of hardware... unfortenly, right now im not on the best condition to buy a brand new Mac Mini (believe me, for what you pay on ebay for a mac mini 2011 or 2010, you can just buy a brand new mac mini).

    I've purchased and maybe the next week im receiving this mini.

    I think its very interesting the idea of upgrading the processor to a intel core 2 duo (is not that expensive, i ve found IC2D processors on 20 bucks) so maybe it will be worth a try.

    Thanks!
     
  7. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #7
    Just make sure you get the correct CPu for your Mini. There are only four you can upgrade it too.
     
  8. lilsoccakid74, Apr 10, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2012

    lilsoccakid74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #8
    Sounds like this is by far the best choice after seeing your response. I believe that, of the c2d's that are compatible, you can get one up to 2.66ghz. :cool:

    EDIT: Corrected by Intell, 2.33ghz. thankyou!
     
  9. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #9
    2.33Ghz is the fastest. The compatible CPUs are the T7000 @ 1.86Ghz, T7200 @ 2.00Ghz, T7400 @ 2.16Ghz, and T7600 @ 2.33Ghz.
     
  10. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #10
    these are the ones you want the t7400 goes for about 75-99 on ebay. make sure it is the pin type the t7600 can be found for about 99-125.

    the core solo has a mobo that can be hacked into a c2d this allows 3.1 out

    of 4 gb ram rather then a pair of 1gb sticks.

    it would be a decent machine for snow or lion.
     
  11. EgEm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Mexico
    #11
    So... i just received the Mini xD.

    The Computer was on pristine condition, almost looks brand new :9!...

    First i upgraded the RAM to 2GB, and the Hard Drive from 60 to 320gb :)...

    It still has the core Solo processor but i will try it with that processor, if i find it slow or sluggish, i will look for the IC2D processor. as for what i need it right now, i think its going to be alright :).

    because most of my work is coding, and i dont need a Powerhouse for that. if anything goes wrong ill write it here :)...

    just one question, if i upgrade the core solo to Core 2 Duo... i will be able to upgrade the RAM to 4GB??, because the Max of this Mac is 2Gb. thanks!
     
  12. zap2 macrumors 604

    zap2

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Location:
    Washington D.C
    #12
    I don't believe so. The RAM limit on the Core Solo Minis doesn't come from the CPU, but the motherboard, so regardless of what CPU you have in there, the RAM maxes out at the same.

    Looks like I was mistaken, the max is actually 2GB from the few sites I poked around on.

    This thread looked like it would be filled with info which might help.
     
  13. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #13
    you need to do an efi firmware to the mobo after you put in a c2d. you machine can become a 2.33ghz c2d with 4 gb ram of which you will access 3.1 of the 4gb ram.



    this is how to make your machine a c2d

    http://www.123macmini.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=20540&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

    I can't find the link on the efi to the mobo to make it use 3.1 out of 4gb ram maybe someone else will post it.
     
  14. EgEm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Mexico
    #14
    Wow thank you so much!, i must look for that guide so i could upgrade the RAM to 4GB! ... Honestly i've been used the computer all night and... its fine, but for some tasks its a little slugish.

    Maybe that processor upgrade will be sooner as i thought :(...

    Anyway its ok, and i really LOVE the mini xD (never hard one before), :D ..

    Just one question, i've installed Windows via Bootcamp, but i couldnt find the drivers. any suggestion?
     
  15. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
  16. Moonjumper macrumors 68000

    Moonjumper

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Location:
    Lincoln, UK
    #16
    Hopefully you'll be able to install Lion. You need that for the latest Xcode. It is only a couple of versions back for the Xcode you can use on Snow Leopard, but that is from before support for the new iPad.
     
  17. EgEm thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    Mexico
  18. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #18
    I think it is. Just double check the spec number to make sure it had pins on the bottom and not solder pads.
     

Share This Page