Mac mini (late-2014) ram upgradable?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by starnox, Oct 16, 2014.

  1. starnox macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2005
    #1
    Is the 2014 mac mini ram upgradable or is it soldered on?
     
  2. scotttnz macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Location:
    Auckland, New Zealand
    #2
    I can't find anything that says it specifically, but it looks like it's soldered to me :(
     
  3. blodyholy, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    blodyholy macrumors member

    blodyholy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2012
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, Iowa
    #3
    Its mentioned as "configurable" on the Apple Store. If I had to guess, this memory is not soldered on.

    Side note/question: If it is indeed not soldered on, is it possible to use DDR3 SDRAM in place of LPDDR3 SDRAM in this new machine? I'd love to toss the 16 GB memory from a recently purchased Mini into this if I decide to upgrade.

    Edit: It appears the other Mac's with soldered memory refer to the memory as "onboard" whereas the wording for the new Mini's memory doesn't include onboard. Looks upgradeable?
     
  4. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #4
    I believe LPDDR3 SDRAM is what the Mac Air uses and I wouldn't expect it to be user upgradable... especially if it says "at the Apple Store only"
     
  5. RoastingPig macrumors 68000

    RoastingPig

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Location:
    SoCal
    #5
    there is not disclaimer on the ram like the macbook pro and air say...most likely is user upgradeable
     
  6. naltst*, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    naltst* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #6
  7. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #7
    You're right, the MBA and low-end iMac describe the RAM as "onboard" which this does not. However, I don't think LPDDR3 SODIMMs exist...

    http://www.virtium.com/blog/ddr3l-vs-lpddr3/

    EDIT: LPDDR3 is designed for embedded and mobile systems and uses a very low voltage. Very unlikely this is user upgradable.
     
  8. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #8
    What about the hard drive? Is it upgradable 2.5 ssd?
     
  9. Crosscreek macrumors 68030

    Crosscreek

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Location:
    Margarittaville
    #9
    Sounds like flash drive.

    ----------

    I would say it is not upgradeable and ssd is flash drive just like the rMBPs.
     
  10. Tough Guy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #10
    It comes with a 2.5" 5400 rpm hard drive. The same ones that you could find in your typical laptop from 1995.
     
  11. Crosscreek macrumors 68030

    Crosscreek

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Location:
    Margarittaville
    #11
    If you buy the fusion it will come with flash drive and a hard drive. Now considering it does come with a spinner you may be able to replace with your own SSD but you will not have trim enabled for garbage collection.

    We will have to wait for a IFixit teardown to see exactly what is going on.
     
  12. Anitramane macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2013
    #12
    Oh, you mean the ones that have a lot more space and are way cheaper?
     
  13. jdphoto macrumors 6502

    jdphoto

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2014
    #13
    It looks upgradeable. Both the 21.5" iMac and the Macbook Airs have disclaimers in their BTO descriptions warning users they can't upgrade later. The new mini has no such disclaimer. I went ahead and ordered one with 8GB, if it turns out its soldered on I'll just return it and then purchase one with the upgrade.
     
  14. naltst* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #14
    Exactly - If the RAM and hard drive are user upgradeable I'll buy the middle spec one straight away and then buy an SSD and up the RAM. (And a container for the old harddrive?)

    If not I might have to spend a lot more to Apple to upgrade. Boo
     
  15. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #15
    This is what I got from apple! I'm confused now. So the base model uses a regular 2.5 HDD @ 5400RPM, but if you upgraded to 1tb you get a PCIe-based flash drive?

    Source: http://www.apple.com/pr/library/2014/10/16Apple-Updates-Mac-mini.html
     
  16. JackieInCo macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2013
    Location:
    Colorado
    #16
    The Apple store Mini page says that the RAM is ONLY upgradeable at the online Apple store. I take that to mean it is soldered in.
     
  17. CptSky macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    #17
    I'm sure there isn't any LPDDR3 SO DIMM, so, probably soldered.
     
  18. Tough Guy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2014
    #18
    After 20 years, I'd sure as hell hope so.

    It's downright comical that a 5400 spinner is being included in a desktop computer in 2014.
     
  19. wmy5 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Location:
    upstate NY
    #19
    Maybe we need to see the teardown from ifixit
     
  20. aziatiklover macrumors 68030

    aziatiklover

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Location:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4
    #20
    This
     
  21. Crosscreek macrumors 68030

    Crosscreek

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Location:
    Margarittaville
    #21
  22. naltst*, Oct 16, 2014
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2014

    naltst* macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2005
    #22
  23. AppliedMicro macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    #23
    This.

    I am going to believe RAM is non-upgrade in the 2014 Mac mini until someone can point me to any LPDDR DIMM or any product with LPDDR RAM that is actually user-upgradeable.
     
  24. BiteDisAppleD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    #24
    Can't upload the screenshot, but the sales rep said its possible
     
  25. mullet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    B'klyn
    #25
    That's funny because I spoke with two reps that both said it's not possible. You have to buy the amount of RAM you need and that's it. No upgrades possible. I'm hoping they're talking out of their....
     

Share This Page