Mac Mini Mid 2007 Won't boot after T7200 CPU Upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by castroa320, Jun 22, 2017.

  1. castroa320 macrumors newbie

    castroa320

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    #1
    Hi there. This is my first post on the MacRumors forums. So the problem is I got this Mac Mini from eBay a couple of days ago which I took the risk of upgrading the CPU from a 1.83 GHZ Intel Core 2 Duo processor to a 2.0 GHZ T7200 Intel Core 2 Duo processor. I followed the online guides carefully and upgraded the CPU. During this time, I took the time to dust out everything with a compressed air can. I removed the RAM chips and everything. Now, I put it back together and I only get the white light indicating its on. But I have no chime, no Apple logo or anything. The screen stays black. With this problem, i've looked online for various solutions like resetting the PRAM and resetting the SMC and all that but still, no luck unfortunately. I've opened the machine reseated the RAM chips and even the CPU itself. Checked all the connections and everything is good. I did manage to break the Airport WiFi antenna... (stupid me the cable just broke off :oops:). I ordered a new one on eBay because that since I'll be using the WiFi on this machine a lot. But I don't think that would affect the boot up process or cause anything like this problem. I'm out of suggestions and need some advice on how to get this little machine back on track. Any help is appreciated!


    -Thank you!!
     
  2. adam9c1 macrumors 68000

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #2
    did you upgrade the firmware first, before installing the newer processor?

    EDIT:
    I did the mod myself updated from core duo to core 2 duo.
     
  3. castroa320 thread starter macrumors newbie

    castroa320

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    #3
    No i did not. I should also mention that i tried to put the old processor in but it won't even boot from that either.
     
  4. adam9c1 macrumors 68000

    adam9c1

    Joined:
    May 2, 2012
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    #4
    Make sure the the "card" which has the housing for the hard drive and optical drive is seated properly onto the mainboard
     
  5. castroa320 thread starter macrumors newbie

    castroa320

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017
    #5
    If I understood you correctly, you mean the card in the back of the optical drive that go into the motherboard? If so, i checked that already. I also tried testing the RAM sticks one by one but they seemed to be ok. Machine still does the same. Turns on and only the light turns on and i hear the fan spinning and the hard drive as well if i'm not mistaking the fan and HD sounds. There is also no DVD grab. I tried to put in a DVD and won't even grab it.
     
  6. castroa320 thread starter macrumors newbie

    castroa320

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2017

Share This Page