Mac Mini (mid 2010) RAM - 1066Mhz or 1333Mhz

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by yanathin, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. yanathin macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #1
    I'm looking to upgrade the RAM in my mid-2010 Mac Mini. I read that the highest speed supported by this 2010 model (C2D 2.4Ghz) is 1066Mhz, but I was wondering if it would be okay to put in 1333Mhz RAM in case I decided to upgrade to the newer Mini further down the road (which does support the higher speed). Would it just automatically run at the lower clock speed, would I have to tell it to do that manually, or would it just not run at all? I'd appreciate the help. Thank you!
     
  2. alust2013 macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #2
    It would work if you put in the faster memory. I'm not sure which speed it would use, but you shouldn't have any problems.
     
  3. martinm0 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    #3
    It will only take the 1066 in my experience. I tried taking the 4GB RAM from my 2011 MBP and put it in the Mini thinking it would just clock down. It ran, but it was flakey and regurlary got a panic and had to force shut down.

    Get the 1066.
     
  4. yanathin thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    #4
    Thanks for the advice! I'd rather not take my chances with the 1333Mhz... I know there are people out there that haven't had problems with it, but I know I'd be the lucky one that gets the panics. 1066Mhz it is! Plus I just found out my late-2009 iMac takes the same stuff, so I'm going to take the 2x2GB from my iMac to put in my Mini and buy 2x4GB for my iMac. Win-win!
     
  5. EmmanuelGomez macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2011
    Location:
    Washington D.C.
    #5
     
  6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
    the 2010 mini is the pickiest of all mac minis when you max the ram. 2 4gb sticks that have worked for me are samsung and pny must be 1066 not 1333.
     
  7. rusty2192 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #7
    I did this same thing with my late 2009 iMac and late 2008 MacBook. Now I just need to pick up a couple more sticks to max out the iMac :D
     
  8. 808? macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #8
    I got a 2010 mini 2 days ago and added 2 x 4GB 1066 Kingston ram sticks. All doing well so far.

    I also replaced the stock 320Gb hard drive with a OCZ 60GB SSD and it flies! (running 10.6)
     
  9. KibosJ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2011
    #9
    I have 2 sticks (4GBs) of Kingston 1333 in my Mac Mini 2010 and I have ZERO problems.

    Works amazingly :)
     

Share This Page