Mac-Mini server 2011 [Graphics card questions]

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by Jabman, Sep 14, 2011.

  1. Jabman, Sep 14, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2011

    Jabman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #1
    Hi there, I recently ordered a customized mac mini lion server (with 8GB ram instead of 4GB) from the online apple store. At the time I had thought I've researched it enough to know that it would suit me. However after reading a few threads here on this forum a question presented itself to me.

    Apparently the Mac mini server does not sport an AMD 6630m graphics card and instead uses an Intel HD Graphics 3000 processor with 384MB of DDR3 SDRAM shared with main memory.

    My question is, what does that mean basically?:eek:

    I'm mainly planning on using it for watching 1080p movies and tv shows I download, I also do some video editing on the new final cut pro X and I use photoshop frequently and have a browser with a crap-load of tabs always open. I know the mac mini server has more than enough power to support all of this but does the fact that it does not have an AMD 6630m graphics card mean anything in particular? I've already set up the HDTV that I will hook it up to in my room on my desk and have it hooked up to my macbook air currently.

    Any help and reassurance (hopefully) would be greatly appreciated :)

    -----Other questions:
    I like keeping my Macbook air (which is my main computer at the moment) on all the time, I restart it weekly but I rarely shut it down. Will I be able to do the same for my mac mini once I start using it?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    If you bought the server model of the Mac Mini and are worried about the graphics card, you bought the wrong model.
     
  3. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #3
    I'm just concerned as to what the graphics specs on each model mean. I'm not necessarily worried about anything just want to know if I should be worried.
     
  4. Fozziebear40 macrumors regular

    Fozziebear40

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Location:
    Newton-le-Willows
    #4
    Plenty of threads re: the better model and differences in graphics card.
    Basically the HD3000 will handle normal stuff, for games you need the AMD. Depends if your software uses the processor or GPU for tasks.
    BTW your the first person I know that has paid Apple to upgrade the ram :eek:
     
  5. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #5
    haha trust me I'll need the extra memory:D. But so basically the HD3000 will be enough to run 1080p movies smoothly and preferably with ease? How about editing 1080p videos on final cut pro X. I ask because I wont even dare use final cut on my Air. I've been borrowing my brother's Macbook pro for that and even then the rendering takes forever and it rarely runs smoothly.
     
  6. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #6
    Why did you pay Apple to upgrade your RAM?

    8GB upgrades are cheap and it's so easy to install yourself.
     
  7. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #7
    Oh now I see why the other member was surprised. Unfortunately I did not know that.:(
     
  8. SR45 macrumors 65832

    SR45

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #8
    I don't have the server but the basic Mini with 8 GB of ram, integrated video and have used it with my 46 inch Samsun HDTV with movies and TV shows without any issues to mention.

    I only play simple games since my main game machine now is the XBox 360. I also only have the 5400 rpm Hard drive, though I was concerned at first that I should have gotten the better spec MacMini, I'm now very happy I did not waste money on some thing that I really do not need ;)
     
  9. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #9
    You my friend have taken a load of my chest. :) What about leaving it on for days or weeks, is that bad for the mini??
     
  10. Sdevante macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    #10
    Many people leave them on for years straight. Mine has been on pretty much full time since I got it.
     
  11. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #11
    Yeah the quad-core processor will benefit you a lot more than the 6630m GPU would.
     
  12. SR45 macrumors 65832

    SR45

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #12
    Had the Mac Mini only a few weeks now, and left on only a day or so. Mostly in sleep with no issues to report. Others have mentioned leaving them On or in sleep mode longer without problems, however there are some who have had some hiccups, not wide spread.
     
  13. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #13
    CANCEL THE ORDER ASAP IF YOU ARE IN THE USA!

    then order the server with the 750gb hdd upgrade

    then order a pair of 4gb ramsticks from newegg

    the server with 8gb ram from apple is 1200

    the server with 4gb ram and a pair of much faster 750gb hdds is 1100 you save 100 dollars plus tax

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231342


    this ram is 45 bucks so you end up with a 55 dollar savings and 750gb hdds


    BTW when 8gb ram is in your machine 512mb will be used in the intel 3000 graphics not 384mb as is the case with using 4gb ram
     
  14. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #14
    It's on it's way right now I'll have to see once it arrives if I should return it or not but thanks for the advice.

    Everyone has been a great help! :D
     
  15. Ruahrc macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    #15
    Not to be too off-topic, but you aren't having sleep trouble with your mini? Mine won't sleep on it's own. I have to use PleaseSleep or manually initiate the sleep command when I'm done with the computer.

    Ruahrc
     
  16. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #16
    I assume you've already played with the energy saver options in system preferences?
     
  17. SR45 macrumors 65832

    SR45

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2011
    Location:
    Florida
    #17
    Thus far I am not having sleep issues to report, but have only used this Mode a few times over the last couple of weeks. Perhaps I may see this later, not sure. Good luck and hope others can weigh in on your problem.
     
  18. lilsoccakid74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #18
    if you send it back and get a model without any ram upgrade, it will save you about 150 bucks and takes about 2 minutes to do the complete install. if your not tight on cash, enjoy the mini:)
     
  19. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #19
    Wtf?

    Okay something very weird just happened. I just set up my mac mini. I'm 5 minutes into using it and then my logitech wireless mouse suddenly stops working. I take out the wireless USB thing and plug into my macbook air (which is what I have been using my mouse on for roughly a year) and it doesn't work there either.

    Could it possibly be a coincidence that my mouse stopped working or did my freaking Mac mini ruin it.

    SIDENOTE: It stopped working the second I plugged in a logitech webcam into the mac mini.
     
  20. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #20
    Update:

    And suddenly it starts working again.


    I have another question that maybe some of you can answer. I sometimes like to download some files over night. However yesterday whenever I turn of the TV I have hooked to my mac mini and turn it back on again after a few minutes all of the downloads would have gone to 0kb/s and I would be actually connected to the internet even though it says I am on the wifi bars. Does this have something to do with the options "putting the hard drives to sleep whenever possible" or something close to that.
    Thanks.
     
  21. lilsoccakid74 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    #21
    Putting hard disks to sleep would only happen if they were not being used. Make sure your mac is not going into sleep mode.
     
  22. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
  23. cluthz macrumors 68040

    cluthz

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Location:
    Norway
    #23
    There are also some apps that block the computer from going to sleep.
    F.ex the computer won't sleep if you play a movie in f.ex VLC.
     
  24. Jabman thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    #24
    So I've had the Macmini server for roughly a month now and I've loved every moment. However I have yet another question also concerning the graphics.

    A quick recap on my specs; HP 3000 with 512 MB shared graphics. Also have 8GB RAM DDR3 and 2.0 Ghz quad-core i7 (I assume they help the graphics a little bit.) I also have dual 750 GB hardrives.

    My question is this. Is it at all possible to remove one of the hardrives and install a high end graphics card? Or is there a way to customize an esternal card that would be able to be hooked through the thunderbolt port in the Macmini?
     
  25. shortcut3d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    #25
    No. There is not an option to replace an HDD with a graphics card nor is there one with sufficient performance that would even fit in the space.

    You may be able to hold out for an external Thunderbolt option.
     

Share This Page