Mac Mini Server (mid 2011) Internet Problems

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by kflem247, Aug 9, 2011.

  1. kflem247 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #1
    Alright so here is the issue... I will first explain and then leave you guys with a few questions... I bought a mac mini server with 1.5 TB of hard drive space and 1.04 TB of it is used with 215 HD movies, 7 Seasons in HD of TV Shows, and 7000 songs. I have no issue with starting programs, using applications, or playing music and videos. The biggest problem I have is when I go to the internet whether using safari or google chrome it takes a long time to load anything. From accessing google.com to macrumors.com to apple.com they all give me load times around 15 seconds. I thought that maybe it was my internet, but when using a windows pc with 2 ghz intel pentium M and 1 gb of ram, bought in 2005, the internet loads instantaneously as expected. Because of this I ruled out the internet. My Mac mini server has a 2.0ghz quad core and 8 GB of RAM so it shouldn't even be in the same ballpark as my '05 windows pc. I have comcast internet which I believe claims 20 mb/s and my router is a linksys 2.4 ghz.
    1. Could it have anything to do with my router responding to the new mac operating system (or just a mac in general, and I have a macbook air which works fine with it)?
    2. Do you have any trouble shooting ideas as far as internet goes because I wouldn't think it is a processor issue considering all programs, etc... load efficiently?
    3. Does the fact that it is a Mac Mini Server affect the download speeds? (keeping in mind that I am not using it as a server at all)
    4. Im considering buying a time capsule, just for time machine purposes, could that potentially solve all my problems as a router or is it most likely an internal problem with the mac mini?
     
  2. Vampire18 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    Location:
    ShangHai
    #2
    I think the issue is DNS address. Maybe you should change the DNS address or specify the address same as the one used on your PC;)
     
  3. FrankHahn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    #3
    Are you using a wired network? I had this kind of problem when I started using Macs again. Switching to a wireless network made the network speed normal. I once noticed that copying things to a wired time capsule was slow. I called Apple support on this, but no definite answer was obtained. Using a wireless network again solved the problem. Nowadays Macs appear to dislike wired things. I can't give a satisfactory explanation on this difference between a wired and a wireless network. I would like to know the reason behind this seeming odd behavior!

    By the way, I have found that wired or wireless makes no difference to PCs.
     
  4. Vermifuge macrumors 6502a

    Vermifuge

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2009
    #4
    I don't think this is a mini problem but a lion problem. If you search apple support or some of the other popular apple forums you will find Lion seems to have a number of Wifi and Internet based connectivity problems.

    Check this post for some solutions
     
  5. kflem247 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #5
    It is a wireless network... I will try changing the DNS address, thanks for the response, I will change it when I get home and update after!
     
  6. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #6
    funny wireless is a joke and wired is great for my macs. I do live near 5 military bases lots of jets etc. When they fly over head all wires stuff drops connection. So I use wired routers only


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833127060

    http://www.amazon.com/D-Link-DGL-41...54FS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1312999764&sr=8-2





    newer model does both wired or wireless

    http://cgi.ebay.com/D-Link-DGL-4300..._EN_Routers&hash=item4cf93a0ad4#ht_528wt_1209
     
  7. kflem247 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    #7
    Thanks!

    Just got home and changed the dns on my mac to match the dns on my windows pos (i mean pc) and it works perfect now! Thanks to all who responded, hopefully this helps someone else out in the future!
     

Share This Page