Mac mini Server Pricing with SSD

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by servido, Nov 25, 2011.

1. servido macrumors newbie

If you buy a Mac Mini regular dual core at $799 starting price and replace the HD with a 256GB SSD it costs an additional $600 and the total comes to $1399.

However, if you choose the $999 server with a quad core i7 and add the 256GB SSD it only costs $400 and brings the price to $1399.

Why in the world would anyone not choose the later option? What am I missing here? You basically get the "2.3GHz dual-core Intel Core i5" for the same price as the "2.0GHz quad-core Intel Core i7"? You even get to choose the server OS if you want.

Am I missing something here? I own a first generation Macbook Air 11.6" and have become a slave to the SSD drive. I love it. However, I need a beefier machine for work since I'm a Java developer and want to learn more Objective-C / iOS development. My air CPU is starting to chug using X-Code so want a quad core to help with all the compiling. I don't require a ton of space as when I watch videos I typically delete them when done and the rare videos I do keep I can just store on an external drive. I am a PS3 gamer so don't really game on PCs. So the SSD is the way to go for me. Hell I have not filled up my 128GB SSD in almost 1 year of daily use. I just download/watch/delete most shows or stream Netflix to the PS3.

In terms of memory, I plan to upgrade on my own. I have built many a PC so I can't imagine it being that difficult to open up the mini and update the RAM. I read some helpful guides in these forums.

So Back to my original question, why would anyone including myself choose a the normal mini with the weaker CPU? I have to be missing a key fact right?

Thanks for reading my first post :)

2. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

You are missing quite a bit:

1. The 799 model has the dedicated AMD GPU. For gaming and HTPC use it is preferred.