Mac newbie: Does OS X not have Incremental Search?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by blue2gnt, Nov 30, 2010.

1. blue2gnt macrumors newbie

I'm not new to Apple products after owning an iPad and five iPods, but I am new to Mac, and therefore to OS X.

The only niggling thing that Windows XP does that I cannot seem to activate in OS X is incremental search. Is this not a feature than can be used in Mac OSs? :mad:

For those who aren't sure what I am talking about, incremental search is what the OS does (at least in Windows) when you attempt to save a file (such as an image). As you begin typing the filename, Windows will suggest underneath a list of all other files in that same folder that begin with the same series of letters. So if you're saving a bunch of photos with a simple number designation at the end to differentiate them, if their filename is quite long, incremental search makes saving these files 10x quicker. Here is a picture showing what it looks like it Windows:
    [​IMG]

So, when I save a photo with the following filename:
    "Sebastien Buemi (Scuderia Toro Rosso STR5) - Suzuka '10 (01)"
    and then go to save the next file with the only difference being that the "(01)" at the end becomes "(02)," I can simply type "Seb" and tap the down arrow key to highlight the suggestion, hit delete twice, and enter "2)." and I'm done. Please tell me this is possible in OS X?? I save thousands of photos a month, most of which are sequentially named this way...I'd hate to not be able to save photos on my Macbook due to it being simply too time-consuming.

2. angelwatt Moderator emeritus

angelwatt

One option. From the Open window (or Finder) hit command+shift+G. This brings up a little prompt window. This allows for tab completion of paths. Not quite the same, but may be helpful.

On Save dialogs you can do the same thing, or if you delete the file path and type / or ~ it will switch to that mode.