Mac OS 10.13.1 Perfomance

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Retromac2008, Nov 4, 2017.

  1. Retromac2008, Nov 4, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2017

    Retromac2008 macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #1
    Is it slower than 10.13 ?

    i read terrible things

    EDIT: installed on 3 Macs


    - Imac 27 with Gtx 780m without SSD : terrible stuttering

    - MacBook Air 2011 : perfect, faster than sierra/High Sierra

    - MacBook Pro 2015 : perfect, faster than sierra/High Sierra
     
  2. Samanosuke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #2
    If you do a fresh install it’s fine. If not you run the risk of it lagging like no other.

    I had it lag horribly, resintalled the OS and everything runs flawlessly afterwards.
     
  3. jk73 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
  4. Retromac2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #4
    I did a fresh install for 10.13, another one ?
     
  5. Samanosuke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #5
    10.13.1 was released recently.

    By fresh install I mean that you wiped the system and did an install as if brand new from factory.
     
  6. ashleykaryl macrumors regular

    ashleykaryl

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    It's fine for me and I just did a regular upgrade from 10.13.
     
  7. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #7
    o_O
    You don't do a clean install at every point update. That's downright silly.
    10.13.1 runs fine for me and I never read about "terrible things".
    If it lags, find the culprit but don't wipe out your entire system.
     
  8. Samanosuke macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    #8
    I always do a clean install when there is an update. It takes me all of an hour and I'm done. Just like I do with my iPhones. I always DFU restore at the .x updates.

    From my experiences in the mobile industry, OTA has it's issues compared to clean installs.
     
  9. Retromac2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #9
    i installed 10.13 not so long ago, and i did a complete wipe out install.

    do you think i need to do it again for 10.13.1 ?

    on a "old" imac 27 with gtx 780m MacOS 10.13.1 is stuttering insanely. (and was ok with 10.13)


    now i m upgrading a macbook air and a macbook pro 2015 too.
     
  10. ashleykaryl macrumors regular

    ashleykaryl

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #10
    I did a clean install for 10.13. The straight upgrade to 10.13.1 was simple and no issues at all.
     
  11. Eligos macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2009
  12. Retromac2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #12

    me too, done.

    On a Macbook Air MacOS 10.13.1 is perfect. The best version for this little ultrabook.

    now i m going to upgrade the macbook pro 2015 too.


    ATM only my Imac 27 with gtx 780m is stuttering :( and it was the fastest
     
  13. ashleykaryl macrumors regular

    ashleykaryl

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    UK
    #13
    I did a straight upgrade yesterday from Sierra to 10.13.1 on a 2017 MBP and it went without a hitch. I do think there were issues with the initial release and late beta versions of High Sierra, but it seems OK now.
     
  14. jeanlain macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #14
    Then you don't have so many files to restore, iCloud services to enable (synching the Photos library can be very long even if you have everything locally), and you may not use Time Machine unless you have tons of hard drives to copy your entire system after each update (because Time machine would save everything). Not to mention that doing all this doesn't do good to your internal hard drive.
    A clean install would take me several hours, and 600GB of my Time Machine backup after that.
     
  15. jk73 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    #15
    To each his own and all that, but this is massive overkill.
     
  16. Mac Hammer Fan, Nov 5, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2017

    Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502a

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #16
    I just installed High Sierra on a test hard drive from my Mac Pro. I updated a Sierra partition, so it was not a clean install.
    It took an hour to download the installer from the App Store and nearly an hour to install.
    I was afraid of troubles with the nVidia web driver but there was only a small problem when I installed this driver. The MacOS system blocked the extension from loading, but I could fix that. It was much better than the nightmares I expected. (sigh)
    I didn't use APFS, so therefore I didn't install HS on an ssd. In this case, the system disk wouldn't be visible when I booted from my El Capitan partition.
    I ran Cinebench and Geekbench and Heaven and the results were approx. the same in Sierra and High Sierra.
    Surprisingly Parallels 11 seemed to work, but I didn't test it thoroughly. I encountered many problems with Word from Office 2011 when I tried to open complex old documents. Filemaker Pro 11 quits unexpectedly too.
    Boot and shutdown time increased as expected, but I didn't have slow write speeds on my SSD.
    So after all, it was a pleasant surprise.
    But I still will stay with El Capitan and Sierra. It was just a test.
    Conclusion for now: High Sierra is not faster than Sierra. But that could change in the future.
     
  17. Dominat0r macrumors 6502a

    Dominat0r

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #17
    I revived my later 2012 Mac Mini with some new ram and new SSHD. I started off with HS and noticed some slow downs in launching apps. Even built in apps like Mail, Photos, etc etc.

    I did a clean install of Sierra and since then I have not noticed these little slow downs. Also, my memory pressure showed it was MUCH lower in Sierra than HS. If I ran Mail, Clemintine and Chrome, my memory pressure would be over 50% in the chart. With Sierra, I have even more open (terminal ssh'ed in my server, Photos app, Whatsapp, Messages,) and my memory pressure has not risen over 30%.

    I am guessing since I can not run APFS, HS runs a tad bit slower in HFS. I would like to see some comparisons of Sierra and High Sierra (HFS, not APFS) and see.
     
  18. Retromac2008 thread starter macrumors regular

    Retromac2008

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2015
    #18
    could be connected to the lack of APFS. I have stuttering on the only mac without ssd (but with good specs)
     
  19. Dominat0r macrumors 6502a

    Dominat0r

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #19
    I really have no problems at all with Sierra. I might upgrade to a SSD later. However, my mac is not my main machine. So it comes second atm. Maybe it will get a hand me down soon.
     
  20. kecinzer macrumors regular

    kecinzer

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Location:
    Czech republic
    #20
    High Sierra is the worst update for me.
    I have MacBook Pro 15" mid 2014 and its very slow for me. I did also fresh clean install, but after few days speed goes down. 10.13.1 fix iMessages for me, but its very slow. I hope, that future versions will fix it.
     
  21. macworksgreat macrumors regular

    macworksgreat

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Location:
    Rome, GA
    #21
    It may just be me but when using Safari it hangs on several sites. eg Twitter..only when I click on a tweet to open it up. Again...it may be just my set up.
     
  22. Dominat0r macrumors 6502a

    Dominat0r

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #22
    Anyone running HS with with HFS+ and non SSD? I am curious to see others experiences with this setup is.
     
  23. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #23
    "Anyone running HS with with HFS+ and non SSD?"

    I do -- for test purposes only.
    I have HS installed on an -old- Lacie firewire800 HDD.
    It boots up slowly -- of course.
    Once up-and-running, HS is fairly "snappy".
    If you launch a -large- app (such as Final Cut Pro X), again, the loading is slow, but once loaded it runs well enough.

    I have no plans to use HS other than "in testing mode" at all.
    Chances are, I'll never install it on my "working drives" (which are still running El Capitan).
     
  24. Dominat0r macrumors 6502a

    Dominat0r

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    #24
    Interesting. I have noticed pretty much exactly what you did. I guess it could be that its just optimized to run on APFS in certainly situations.

    Thank you for the info.

    Is there a reason why you do not run Sierra? (not High) Program compatibility?
     
  25. Mac Hammer Fan macrumors 6502a

    Mac Hammer Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Location:
    Belgium
    #25
    I am running HS on a 7200 rpm HD and I am planning to clone it to an SSD to avoid APFS conversion.
    Performance is reasonably good on my Mac Pro 2009 6core 3,33 Ghz, boot time is slow however.
     

Share This Page

27 November 4, 2017