Mac OS X's RAM usage

Discussion in 'macOS' started by Burning Radio, Apr 11, 2009.

1. Burning Radio macrumors regular

I'm a soon to be newbie to a Macbook and was just wondering how much of a RAM hog is Mac OS X? I ask this because the base models of most Macs have only 2 gigs of RAM. Now on Windows, 2 GB won't get you anywhere.(well, maybe an hour of using a single app.)

How much can you get from 2 GB of RAM on a Mac compared to 2 GB of RAM on a similar spec PC?

My guess is that it uses RAM better, but I'd like to have an answer.

Thanks!

2. robbieduncan Moderator emeritus

robbieduncan

Until about November last year I had a Mac that would only support 2Gb of RAM. It was fine most of the time, multi-tasking and handling relatively demanding apps (Aperture etc). It would page out sometimes and now that I've got a machine with 4Gb it's better, but most people would be OK with 2Gb.

3. gr8tfly macrumors 603

gr8tfly

4. Burning Radio thread starter macrumors regular

Thanks for the replies. I may end up going for a refurbished and hope to get one with 4 gigs by mistake. lol.

The most workload I'd throw at the system would be Photoshop, iTunes, Safari and iChat all at once. Possible with 2 Gigs? Could I run even more?
    I know there are so many other determining factors, but I figure it's a better idea to ask you power users than someone at the Apple Store.

5. northernmunky macrumors 6502a

northernmunky

I upgraded my Macbook Pro to 4Gb (from 2Gb)... it's still not enough!

6. emt1 macrumors 65816

7. clevin macrumors G3

clevin

2G only allow you to run one app on windows for an hour? what app are you running?

8. Burning Radio thread starter macrumors regular

Obviously an exaggeration. :D

But usually it's more than one app. I always play music when I'm working on the computer. So i'll always have at least two fairly "needy" programs running. Photoshop can really bog down the system as well. Add that to browsing online and youtube.