Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

MacProFan4

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 3, 2017
4
0
New Jersey
Hi folks, I am looking to perform the Mac Pro 1.1 to 2.1 firmware upgrade to a MP 1.1 as referred to by the
" Http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1094.0.html " link. Then I'll do the processor upgrade. I'm a newcomer to MacRumors, so plse bear with me. I'm transferring the text for this from Window's "notepad" so I'm not sure how this will end up looking. I'm new to looking under the hood of Macs, though I've done many Bios upgrades in the PC world. The Mac Pros were beautiful units, and I would like to extend the useful life of the one I have as long as is practical. So, since one is modifying firmware, and I don't want to turn this unit into a doorstop, I'm proceeding with caution.
After doing the download to a PC and unzipping the files, I came to the conclusion that it's easier and safer doing this entirely with Macs. So I did the download to a Macbook Pro, and copied the file to a thumbdrive. The next steps are to copy it onto the Mac Pro's harddrive, connect the Mac Pro to the internet, run the program by double clicking it, and then follow the directions given by the program with respect to the Mac Pro's next boot up. It would seem a REALLY good idea to have the Mac running off an uninteruptable power supply when I do this. Part of this process is the MacPro accessing the internet for "the needed files" to complete the upgrade. Quoting part of the 2011 Netkas entry :
"The download does not contain any firmware updater files or image files. The program creates a small RAM disk, downloads the needed files, copies all of the scripts to the RAM disk, and then runs the scripts. Everything is left on the RAM disk for you to look at and study, if needed."
My concern, and question here is, since it is presently neccessary to have the MacPro go to somewhere (to Apple?) on the internet to get what it needs to do this upgrade, you can only do this procedure for the present and for an unknown amount of time into the future. So what happens when your MacPro can't access it anymore? The Netkas entry says everything is left on the ram disk for you to use, so it seems that if you make a copy of that ram disk, and if you know how to get the upgrade program to run (that is, invoke it), then you'll be self sufficient to do these MP1.1 to 2.1 upgrades in the future. I would like to know how to do this, if someone knows. Thanks
 

MacProFan4

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 3, 2017
4
0
New Jersey
Great to hear the script fetching program and the fetched scripts work "like a charm", or, as Apple might say, "It just works." Still, it would be nice to be able to capture the fetched scripts for another unit down the road.
 

CharCat

macrumors member
Jan 10, 2018
30
1
I just ran the described download just fine. Got a little worried with the blank screen after the progress bar but that was only temporary. Everything is up & running.
 

society

macrumors newbie
Feb 18, 2018
1
0
portugal
hi there guys, im triyn g to upgrade my 1.1 to 2.1 like u are saiy but followwing the instrutions it doesnt work.
i run the file and it completes and says to restar the mac and them prss the power button till the led blinks or ear the tone.
i do that but it boot to my o.S by the way el capitan. can u guys help or give a hint?
many thanks ;)
 

HaRoMR

macrumors newbie
Mar 25, 2019
7
5
Hi folks,
I am a bit late to the party but I got my hands on a Mac Pro 1,1 and want to upgrade it to a 2,1. Unfortunately the link mentioned in the post above does not work anymore. :-(. Do you know a different source or does somebody still has a copy of it?

Thanks in advance and cheers,
Robert
 

HaRoMR

macrumors newbie
Mar 25, 2019
7
5
Hi @jbarley,
I did manage to upgrade my Mac from 1,1 to 2,1. I've written down my procedure here in case somebody else wants to do a Mac Pro 1,1 upgrade in 2019. ;-)

Thanks again and cheers,
Robert
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rassama

Ichijoe

macrumors newbie
Sep 9, 2019
3
0
Hi @jbarley,
I did manage to upgrade my Mac from 1,1 to 2,1. I've written down my procedure here in case somebody else wants to do a Mac Pro 1,1 upgrade in 2019. ;-)

Thanks again and cheers,
Robert

Do you still have the Apple Firmware Tool (*.dmg) File? If so could you please upload it?
Thanks.
 

MacUser2525

Suspended
Mar 17, 2007
2,097
373
Canada
Do you still have the Apple Firmware Tool (*.dmg) File? If so could you please upload it?
Thanks.

Once I enabled the javascript and whitelisted the archive.org after clicking on the link to it posted in this thread. It was simple to click on a link for the date on its site this then allowed me to download from the netkas page that came up for the firmware tool there. Here it is in this thread for you and those who may need it in the future.
 

Attachments

  • MacPro2006-2007FirmwareTool.zip
    131.4 KB · Views: 987

Ichijoe

macrumors newbie
Sep 9, 2019
3
0
Once I enabled the javascript and whitelisted the archive.org after clicking on the link to it posted in this thread. It was simple to click on a link for the date on its site this then allowed me to download from the netkas page that came up for the firmware tool there. Here it is in this thread for you and those who may need it in the future.

Thanks I had a bit of a struggle getting the Wayback Machine to get into the most current Thread(s), but sticking with it I was able to persist long enough to get the Files needed I Probably shouldn't bee a leash and post them somewhere for other People to find them. (I might still even do that.

But, given my noobishness having picked up a Mac Pro 1,1 (And, having successfully primed it for 2,1), I'm less sure about actually wanting to bother investing any more money in that direction. When I could probably do better by just converting this Box to a 3.1 over time.
 
Register on MacRumors! This sidebar will go away, and you'll see fewer ads.