Mac Pro 1.1 - 2.1 Firmware upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by MacProFan4, Mar 3, 2017.

  1. MacProFan4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Hi folks, I am looking to perform the Mac Pro 1.1 to 2.1 firmware upgrade to a MP 1.1 as referred to by the
    " Http://forum.netkas.org/index.php/topic,1094.0.html " link. Then I'll do the processor upgrade. I'm a newcomer to MacRumors, so plse bear with me. I'm transferring the text for this from Window's "notepad" so I'm not sure how this will end up looking. I'm new to looking under the hood of Macs, though I've done many Bios upgrades in the PC world. The Mac Pros were beautiful units, and I would like to extend the useful life of the one I have as long as is practical. So, since one is modifying firmware, and I don't want to turn this unit into a doorstop, I'm proceeding with caution.
    After doing the download to a PC and unzipping the files, I came to the conclusion that it's easier and safer doing this entirely with Macs. So I did the download to a Macbook Pro, and copied the file to a thumbdrive. The next steps are to copy it onto the Mac Pro's harddrive, connect the Mac Pro to the internet, run the program by double clicking it, and then follow the directions given by the program with respect to the Mac Pro's next boot up. It would seem a REALLY good idea to have the Mac running off an uninteruptable power supply when I do this. Part of this process is the MacPro accessing the internet for "the needed files" to complete the upgrade. Quoting part of the 2011 Netkas entry :
    "The download does not contain any firmware updater files or image files. The program creates a small RAM disk, downloads the needed files, copies all of the scripts to the RAM disk, and then runs the scripts. Everything is left on the RAM disk for you to look at and study, if needed."
    My concern, and question here is, since it is presently neccessary to have the MacPro go to somewhere (to Apple?) on the internet to get what it needs to do this upgrade, you can only do this procedure for the present and for an unknown amount of time into the future. So what happens when your MacPro can't access it anymore? The Netkas entry says everything is left on the ram disk for you to use, so it seems that if you make a copy of that ram disk, and if you know how to get the upgrade program to run (that is, invoke it), then you'll be self sufficient to do these MP1.1 to 2.1 upgrades in the future. I would like to know how to do this, if someone knows. Thanks
     
  2. jbarley macrumors 68040

    jbarley

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Location:
    Vancouver Island
    #2
    I downloaded this file from the link you posted and ran it without any issues whatsover, worked like a charm.
    No need to over think the process.
     
  3. vrBrew Suspended

    vrBrew

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Location:
    High life, High times
  4. MacProFan4 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2017
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #4
    Great to hear the script fetching program and the fetched scripts work "like a charm", or, as Apple might say, "It just works." Still, it would be nice to be able to capture the fetched scripts for another unit down the road.
     
  5. CharCat macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2018
    #5
    I just ran the described download just fine. Got a little worried with the blank screen after the progress bar but that was only temporary. Everything is up & running.
     
  6. society macrumors newbie

    society

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Location:
    portugal
    #6
    hi there guys, im triyn g to upgrade my 1.1 to 2.1 like u are saiy but followwing the instrutions it doesnt work.
    i run the file and it completes and says to restar the mac and them prss the power button till the led blinks or ear the tone.
    i do that but it boot to my o.S by the way el capitan. can u guys help or give a hint?
    many thanks ;)
     

Share This Page