Mac Pro 1,1 GPU upgrade

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by SuperSwordGaming, Dec 6, 2017 at 1:05 PM.

  1. mikas macrumors regular

    mikas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Finland
    #2
    Ati Radeon 5770
    nVidia GTX 680
    El Capitan is the Max
    You need to do firmware update (1.1->2.1) to use the newer 4-core processors with your Mac Pro.
     
  2. SuperSwordGaming thread starter macrumors newbie

    SuperSwordGaming

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    #3
    So for the 5355's I don't need to, but the 5365's need the 2,1 firmware? Gotcha. And the PSU will be able to support the 680 and the new CPUs? Is the 680 one of the best it supports, or is it just the best "bang for your buck"?
     
  3. mikas macrumors regular

    mikas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Finland
    #4
    You need to do firmware update to use the X5355 too. I've got 2x X5355s in my (1.1->2.1).
    There are two min 6-pin connectors on the motherboard. That's what the 680 wants, but you have to deliver the power with adapter cables (mini 6-pin to PCIe 6-pin, and x2 cables). Cables are to be found on eBay or Amazon for a few bucks, maybe 10$ or so.

    GFX: and if you don't need boot screen, please look up what hwojtek wrote at your GPU thread.
     
  4. SuperSwordGaming thread starter macrumors newbie

    SuperSwordGaming

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    #5
    So what I found for the GPU is this ( https://www.ebay.com/itm/NVIDIA-MSi...755820?hash=item2a9795132c:g:3QIAAOSw0wRaHRMp ) and I did look at it, but I don't know how to flash a bios or if this one is even doable. Any advice?
     
  5. mikas macrumors regular

    mikas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    You might want to do some searches here with forum threads. I found one for you, the firmware upgrade. There might be better threads regarding the subject, I don't know.

    You will need a patch for your El Capitan OS X (Pike's fix etc.) to boot from it. It's all doable, but you have to study a little bit to get to how to accomplish it.

    Good Luck with updating. It's actually quite fun.
     
  6. SuperSwordGaming thread starter macrumors newbie

    SuperSwordGaming

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    #7
    Thank you, so glad to know that such friendly people will be able to help me troubleshoot should I need it! Most helpful by far!
    Side note: is this RAM compatible, and is this the adapter you mentioned?
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/121806850379
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/Mini-PCIe-...686628?hash=item3f8befc6a4:g:aCsAAOSwLnBX8EjB
     
  7. mikas macrumors regular

    mikas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    They both seem like valid purchases for your machine.
     
  8. SuperSwordGaming thread starter macrumors newbie

    SuperSwordGaming

    Joined:
    Wednesday
    #9
    Last question, promise! I hear 4GB RAM modules will work in the 1,1 as well. And I have the 8400 GPU, will I need anything else to do the upgrade to El Capitan? I keep hearing conflicting information.
     
  9. mikas macrumors regular

    mikas

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2017
    Location:
    Finland
    #10
    4GB will work fine, I've got 8x4GB myself.
    If they are all the same size, model and make, the better.
    They should work with mixed sizes too, but it might happen you need to experiment with memory slots a little if mixing the sizes.

    I can't help with 8400, maybe someone else.

    You probably found the thread jbarley posted to your other similar thread?
    Using a PC graphic card in Mac Pro Rev.A [EFI 32] (Mac Pro 1st Gen/1.1)

    Maybe the threads should be combined.
     

Share This Page