Mac Pro 1,1 Graphics Scam?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by appleguy010, Sep 4, 2016.

  1. appleguy010 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    #1
    About a year ago I bought an ATI Radeon HD 5770 from Amazon. The product said it was "PC Flashed for Mac". It also said that the card wouldn't show a boot screen which wasn't a problem for me back then. I was a big computer noob back then, and looking back at this now I feel like an idiot. Did they simply sell me a PC card for twice the price? Thanks for your help, Josh
     
  2. crjackson2134 macrumors 68040

    crjackson2134

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
  3. appleguy010 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    #3
    Probably just going to flash it myself.
     
  4. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #4
    If it had been flashed properly, yes, one would expect a boot screen.
     
  5. prvt.donut macrumors 6502a

    prvt.donut

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    #5
    Would you like to buy my 5770?

    (It is the Mac version)
     
  6. h9826790 macrumors G4

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #7
    Not sure if the 5770 use 64bit Mac EFI or 32bit. If the 5770 only has 64bit Mac EFI, it may not able to show any boot screen even though properly flashed. The 1,1 should be using 32bit EFI.

    Since the 5770 came with the 5,1. So I expect it is using 64bit EFI, and no 32bit EFI support for 1,1.
     
  7. monokakata macrumors 68000

    monokakata

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawai'i
    #8
    I had an Apple 5770 in a 1,1, and it worked perfectly. Obviously we don't know what the OP really has (or doesn't have) but a properly-configured 5770 works well in a 1,1.
     
  8. appleguy010, Sep 5, 2016
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2016

    appleguy010 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    #9
    Thanks guys for all your support. I am using the bottom most dvi port to connect my 20 inch apple cinima display (1680x1050). From what I have heard, usually the apple oem card works fine in the mac pro 1 1 (remember mine's a "flashed" pc card). In this video by dosdude1, he successfully got his pc radeon to show a boot screen in his 1 1:

    Can I flash the card with only the Mac or do I need a proper pc with a bios? I have Windows 7 x64, Windows 10 x64, Mac OS X Lion, Mac OS X El Capitan, and Ubuntu x64(mostly because I can :p). Oh and thank you owbp for helping me get Windows 64 bit working :)
     
  9. hwojtek macrumors 65816

    hwojtek

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Poznan, Poland
    #10
    PC, or just run Windows on your Mac from Bootcamp or natively. Easiest way is to have Windows with WinAtiFlash ("easiest" as in "I have never been able to start freeDOS on my Mac Pro anyway").
     
  10. dfritchie macrumors regular

    dfritchie

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    #11
    I was able to flash the 7950 in my 1,1 using bootcamp with windows xp on the 1,1.
    It shows full boot screen, no reason the 5770 won't also.
     

Share This Page