Resolved Mac Pro 2009 upgrade (4.1 to 5.1) - UDIMMs or RDIMMs RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by polanskiman, Mar 20, 2016.

  1. polanskiman macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    I'm in the process of upgrading my Mac Pro 2009 4.1 to 5.1 with new CPUs and whatnot. I am also intending to upgrade to faster RAM (1333 Mhz) but there is something I am not sure about. According to Apple specs, RAM for MAC Pro 2009 should be ECC UDIMM (unregistered). However when I look at the specs of the Mac Pro 2010 (5.1) Apple suggests that both UDIMMs and RDIMMs (registered) can be used in that model.

    So my question is the following: can RDIMMs be used on a Mac Pro 2009 which has seen its firmware updated to 5.1 or am I stuck in using UDIMMs?

    Thank you.
     
  2. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  3. polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #3
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    AFAIK, only the 1333 is firmware related, RDIMM is always supported in 4,1.
     
  5. polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #5
    It's not officially supported by Apple (https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT205043#3). Yet, it is good to know it does work on the 2009 Mac Pro.
    --- Post Merged, Mar 21, 2016 ---
    I also have another question which I forgot to included in the OP. I see that some RAM manufacturers "feature utilisation of Apple qualified components including the inclusion of the Apple qualified Thermal Sensor EEPROM". Is this a pre-requisit when purchasing RAM or any compatible RAM brand will work?
     
  6. pastrychef macrumors 601

    pastrychef

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Location:
    New York City, NY
    #6
    I've had RAM without the thermal sensor installed in my Mac Pro 5,1 before and they worked. They just don't give any temperature information. That being said, I prefer RAM with the temperature sensor.
     
  7. Machines macrumors 6502

    Machines

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Fox River Valley , Illinois
    #7
    You can use either registered or unregistered 240 pin DDR3 ECC memory in either a Mac Pro 4,1 or 5,1 . You cannot mix both in the same System, though , as you already know .

    Higher capacity modules are always registered . It starts at 4GB or 8GB .

    There are PC Enterprise grade memory modules with Apple compatible thermal sensors that work perfectly fine in a cMP , even if not Apple approved .

    Nehalem series Xeons have tri-channel optimized memory , which means your Mac will experience a performance boost when you install three matching memory modules per processor (even if there are four slots available.)

    Your current processors are limited to a memory speed as high as 1066 MHz , although your Mac's upgraded boot ROM now can support as high as 1333 MHz . It is good you are considering a processor upgrade for numerous reasons .
     
  8. polanskiman, Mar 23, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2016

    polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #8
    Thanks Machines. I will soon receive two x5670 which will then need to be delidded first. Now I am looking into purchasing the RAM. I think I found a good deal on ebay for some Hynix 1333 Mhz DDR3 RAM - part number: HMT31GR7BFR4C-H9 (https://www.skhynix.com/eolproducts.view.do?pronm=DDR3+SDRAM&srnm=HMT31GR7BFR4C&rk=20&rc=module). Hopefully this should do it as the RAM has a temperature sensor with integrated SPD which complies with JEDEC TSE2002av as required by Apple's Specifications. The RAM is also RoHS compliant.
     
  9. h9826790, Mar 24, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 24, 2016

    h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    I don't know how much they ask for, but this 4x8G is just $75 (new) and this is ECC RAM.
     
  10. polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #10
    It's a tad cheaper than that and free delivery from Hong Kong. :)
     
  11. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68020

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #11
    Thanks for the link, looks like fantastic prices.
     
  12. polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #12
    In fact you can easily find cheaper than that on ebay.
     
  13. polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #13
    Done with the RAM. I indulged myself with 6 modules of 8GB RAM (48GB total) for 120USD, shipping included. Some stores are selling them even cheaper but they can't guarantee which part number of RAM they will be sending. Sounds just crazy to me and the risk is too high.
     
  14. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    Can you share the link here? New 4x8G 1333 EEC RAM for less than $75 from Hong Kong, I will buy a set to replace my current non ECC RAM.

    I am at Hong Kong, if they send me the wrong parts, it's very easy for me to get exchange / refund.
     
  15. polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #15
    Sure, here you go: http://www.ebay.com/itm/361492244858?_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649&ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT

    Extract of our conversation:
    "Dear friend
    WE CAN NOT make sure whether you can get the item:HMT31GR7BFR4C-H9 [...]"


    Delivery is free.
     
  16. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #16
    Thanks for the link, it may be a good source for me.

    What concern me a bit is "New Hynix 32GB 4X8GB DDR3 2RX4 PC3-10600R 1333MHz 240Pin ECC Registered Server"

    I don't know the 2RX4 mean dual rank or quad rank, quad rank seems may cause issue on the cMP. That's what I want to avoid.
     
  17. polanskiman, Mar 25, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2016

    polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #17
    2Rx4 = Dual rank. That's the 2R at the begining.

    A little more explanation here
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #18
    Thanks for the info. I end up decided to pay $100 more to get 3x16G 2RX4 1333 ECC RAM. That gives me a real upgrade in memory size, speed, and back to ECC.
     
  19. polanskiman thread starter macrumors member

    polanskiman

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    #19
    In case someone comes across this thread I just wanted to say that Hynix HMT31GR7BFR4C-H9 RAM works perfectly with the Mac Pro 4.1.
     
  20. frou macrumors regular

    frou

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    #20

Share This Page