Mac Pro 2013 Ram ?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Maux76, Jan 7, 2014.

  1. Maux76 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #1
    For Photoshop use, Camera Raw , next Aperture X and so for big file Raw manage and software 3d as Luxology Modo and Cinema 4d:

    are sufficient 32 GB of Ram or goog 64 GB for new Mac Pro??
     
  2. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #2
    32GB should be sufficient for now, but if you have the $ to waste, go with 64GB.

    I see 64GB as a more of a down the line upgrade than a 'right now'.
     
  3. Maux76 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Location:
    Italy
    #3
    Thanks.

    Now I decide for GPU:

    for 3d modelling , expecially with Modo and Cinema 4d , good D500 or go for D700???

    D700 is too expensive .
     
  4. jav6454 macrumors P6

    jav6454

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
    #4
    Get the D500, it's same architecture as the D700, except it's clocked slower and has less GDDR5 memory.
     
  5. Dranix macrumors 6502a

    Dranix

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Location:
    Gelnhausen, Germany
    #5
    For 3d Modelling the D300 should be really fast enough.
     
  6. amarcus macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    I'd stick with 32GB of memory and go with the D700. It's easy to upgrade memory later when prices fall and 32GB should be sufficient until then.

    Going from the D500 to the D700 ($800) is still cheaper than upgrading from 32GB to 64GB memory ($1000).
     
  7. johngwheeler macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Location:
    I come from a land down-under...
    #7
    Just get OWC or Crucial RAM

    You can get 32GB of RAM from Crucial or OWC for about $450 AND still have your original RAM to sell. I suggest buying base 4-core and upgrading CPU & GPU, and buy RAM frm a third party - if you want 64GB you'll save hundreds of $!
     
  8. Anim macrumors 6502a

    Anim

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2011
    Location:
    Macclesfield, UK
    #8
    For 3D use I would def get the D700, which is what I have done. More streams for OpenCL rendering and viewport speed boost, 6GB ram for large textured scenes to sit in VRam etc. Although if your working on light stuff I am sure the D500 would cope well enough.
     

Share This Page