Mac Pro 3,1 / 4,1 / 5,1 EFI

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by kenwafu55, Jun 12, 2018.

  1. kenwafu55 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    #1
  2. dmylrea macrumors 68020

    dmylrea

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    #2
    Looking at the docs, it looks like it adds NVMe boot support to any 3,1/4,1/5,1 Mac Pro. It doesn't put a Mac Pro 3,1 in "5,1 mode".

    As far as I know, a 3,1 cannot be tricked into looking like a 5,1 as the sysytem board and CPU and memory is completely different. A 4,1 is very similar to a 5,1 and therefore you can upgrade the ROM of a 4,1 to a 5,1 to gain better CPU and memory speed.

    Has anyone that has done this NVMe upgrade confirmed that it does allow NVMe boot?
     
  3. kenwafu55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    #3
    --- Post Merged, Jun 12, 2018 ---
    Hi Thanks for you comment

    Afther the right flashing ROM process confirmation, the Mac Pro booted properly (even faster than before) but no way to install MAc OS high sierra.
     
  4. Pressure, Jun 13, 2018
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2018

    Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #4
    The Mac Pro 3.1 (Early 2008) isn't supported, so you need to download the High Sierra Patcher from dosdude1.
     
  5. haralds macrumors 6502a

    haralds

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Silicon Valley, CA
    #5
    Note that the patcher works great with the right video cards. Ours works great with the Appel Radeon 4870, but not so well with the 5770.
     
  6. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    You need to install the right patch during post-installation using the patcher. I have no issues with an Radeon HD 5870.
     
  7. kenwafu55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    #7
    --- Post Merged, Jun 15, 2018 ---
    Hi

    Do you think that our trouble might com from the graphic card
    AMD Radeon HD 7950
     
  8. Pressure macrumors 68040

    Pressure

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Location:
    Denmark
    #8
    No, that card is fully supported in High Sierra and Mojave.
     
  9. Acden macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    #9
    Yes! The problem in that. Exactly HD 7950 is not supported by Mac Pro 3.1 2008 platform. But it is very easy to solve it. After installing OS with dos4dude utility, you need to boot from install source again and do post-install, and check Radeon patch! I'm using this card for years on my cMP3.1.
     
  10. handheldgames macrumors 65816

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Location:
    Pacific NW, USA
    #10
    The patch adds NVMe support to the 3,1 as well. AFAIK... One needs to be running a patched version of MacOS as the NVMe patch was initially created on Sierra and verified on High Sierra.
     
  11. kenwafu55 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2018
    #11
    --- Post Merged, Jun 17, 2018 ---
    Hi
    Thanks for your interest in my issue
    Briefly what it happens :
    Once the patch applied to an internal HD the Mac Pro reboots showing the High Sierra installation process, I selected another internal ssd as a destination, and the installation process went on properly.
    When I rebooted the Mac Pro selecting the ssd High Sierra disk, instead of the usual Apple logo
    another one (similar to a circle with o diagonal bar) showed up meaning there was no supported system in the drive.

    Something I noticed when patching the first HD is the the process showed a "completed" message but did not close by itself, I needed to do it manually.

    I hope I'm not boring you all
    Best regards from Luxembourg
     
  12. Acden macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2016
    #12
    After installation you need to run Install source again, and instead of installing do post-install procedures on bootable drive.
     

Share This Page