Mac pro 4 core or 8 core?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Toneboat923, Oct 6, 2008.

1. Toneboat923 macrumors member

Howdy,
    Well as a breif introduction i am new here as well as new to mac's. i just made the big conversion from pc to mc (thank god). I recently purchased a new mac pro (4 core) and new mac book pro. More recently I learned that apple is releasing an 8-core mac pro. This fustrates me a little because I JUST purchased the 4 core.

Now I am a design student and trust me this mac pro definately meets my needs, but I am wondering how big of a difference the 8 core makes? Would it be worth returning or selling my mac pro and getting the 8 core?:confused:

2. p.luik macrumors regular

I have an 8 core mac pro now. They have been out since January. Did you really not know about he 8 core standard mac pro since january? You would have had to downgrade to a 4 core.

3. Toneboat923 thread starter macrumors member

When I went to my local Apple store they told me that the 8 core wasn't available "yet" and that this was the best one out now.....

4. dukebound85 macrumors P6

dukebound85

they have been out for ages as the standard configuration

the dude lied to you

scroll down to the macpro section to see the updtae history
    http://buyersguide.macrumors.com/

the 8 core option has been available since april 2007 by the way, but only in jan did it become the standard config

id take it back if you really wanted the 8 core personally

5. p.luik macrumors regular

For sure dude. He was definitely trying to get rid of that Mac Pro. lol Don't sit down for a while, I'm sure it will hurt considering how you just took it in the *ss.

6. Toneboat923 thread starter macrumors member

i may be a little bit of a noob on this but i just looked over my recipt and I don't know if this means anything but it says..

Mac Pro 2.8
    8cx/2x1g/320/2600xt/sd

7. Toneboat923 thread starter macrumors member

on my mac specs it also says