Mac Pro 5,1 Graphics Card upgrade suggestions?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Gr1f, Jul 3, 2017.

  1. Gr1f macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #1
    Hi,
    Think it might be a good time to update My graphics card from the stock ATI HD 5870. Seems like there are some good options out there for ~$100 mark.

    Anyone have any good suggestions?
    So far I have
    SAPPHIRE HD 7950 3GB GDDR5 MAC Edition

    Cheers
    Grif
     
  2. carpsafari Suspended

    carpsafari

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    #2
    You could not find that answer in the ±100 other topics? Wow.
     
  3. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #3
  4. Gr1f thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #4
    Yea, reading through some of them now......
    Thanks Squuiid! Or I Guess I could push to the 570 if here was more benefit.

    I guess I should add that I'm running 2 x Samsung SA850s
     
  5. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #5
  6. Gr1f thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #6
  7. CapnDavey macrumors 6502

    CapnDavey

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2015
    #7
    What I did was I got a GTX680 EVGA at a hamfest for 90 bucks and I flashed it its a good option so is the HD7950 they can be had for about 100 dollars us non flashed. pre flashed cards come with 100 to 150 added price. If you don't mind flashing cards its much cheaper.
     
  8. Gr1f thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #9
    Just done some more reading on this..... and I'm none the wiser... bloody minefield! SO many brands for the same tech!

    As I mainly use for Adobe CC products I'm thinking I need 4BG min.....
    Squuiid, the Saphire Plus card you mentioned looks really good. Dual support and 8Gb!
    I found a version close to here...
    ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX580-8G-GAMING graphics card - Radeon RX 580 - 8 GB for €285 + VAT (€350). I was hoping to get something for about $150-200....
    A Nvidia Geforce GTX 680 4GB might do the trick?
    http://www.ebay.ie/itm/Apple-Mac-Pr...536991?hash=item25d93e6d1f:g:kkEAAOSwJ4hY9zP~

    Or am I nuts and I should just bite the biscuit and get the RX 580 ?
     
  9. Squuiid macrumors 6502a

    Squuiid

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    #10
    I'd wait for the Sapphire Pulse RX 580 to come into stock.

    If you go for the GTX680 you will need to buy a Mac EFI flashed card or flash the BIOS yourself using a PC. If you don't know what any of this means then I'd definitely wait for stock of the Sapphire RX 580 instead.
    You could also try a Sapphire RX 560 4GB as linked in one of my previous posts if you don't need the performance of the 580.
     
  10. Gr1f thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    #11
    Thanks for the advice!
    --- Post Merged, Jul 4, 2017 ---
    Have found a local supplier for an ASUS version of the Sapphire RX 560 4GB. Would they be identical? listed as ASUS ROG-STRIX-RX560-4G-GAMING graphics card - Radeon RX 560 - 4 GB
     
  11. pixelatedscraps, Jul 21, 2017
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2017

    pixelatedscraps macrumors regular

    pixelatedscraps

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #12
    From what I've managed to find online, if you're going for an RX 560, you want the Gigabyte Windforce edition as it is closest to AMD's reference design. Asus & Sapphire are both good brands but XFX copies seem to have issues. Personally, I hunted down a Gigabyte version on Amazon and went with that for my 2010 cMP (I'm in a similar position as you: photography / retouching studio running cMP and variety of 2014/2015 and 2017 MacBooks)
     
  12. eyeangle macrumors member

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #13
    If I buy the Gigabyte RX 560, will Metal work on my 2010 Mac Pro? Currently Metal doesn't work with my stock Radeon 5870.
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #14
    Metal should work properly on RX560 (assume you have the latest OS and the card can work properly).
     
  14. eyeangle macrumors member

    eyeangle

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #15
  15. machaven macrumors newbie

    machaven

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2011
    Location:
    The Great Southern Land
    #16
    Will this card be much of an improvement over a NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 which I currently have?

    Thank you
     
  16. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #17
    No.

    Check out this table of 'Best Graphics Performance June 2017 - Hierarchy' on tonymac86.com. Whilst the RX 560 isn't on the chart you can see that the performance of the RX 460 is lower than that of the GTX 680. I would expect slightly better performance from the RX 560, but still not enough to warrant replacing your GTX 680 with it.
     
  17. zoltm macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 9, 2017
    #18
    I replaced the Radeon 4870 with an Gigabyte Rx 460 4G. I do not do much heavy lifting stuff with my cMP, honestly speaking, from a UI standpoint, I do not feel much improvement in speed and feed.

    However, the biggest improvement is the power draw and noise made by the Rx 460 is much lower now against the 4870.

    I got the Gigabyte for sub 100 price, a very happy camper. The card work OOB with 10.12.5 and 10.12.6.

    This is a single core cMP that I acquired as a replacement of my Mac Mini 2009, I am loving this cMP for its solidness. The thing won't break sweat while I am playing with 4K Youtube. I could NOT imagine my Mac Mini would do that.
     
  18. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #19
    I think you mean single processor :D

    Anyway, the 4870 is super power inefficient, even idle can draw more than 50W. But if for UI, 680 should stay at 15W idle power stage. Make it not much difference than the RX560.

    Of course, when both cards are under stress, the 680 can draw much much more than the 560.
     
  19. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #20
  20. pixelatedscraps macrumors regular

    pixelatedscraps

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2017
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #22
    Jeez Louise those are crazy prices. If you are patient for a few more weeks until Vega launches, you should see those prices come down at least 20%, if not more on the second hand market, as miners switch to the new architecture.

    Right now, I wouldn't be able to recommend anyone spend that kind of money on an RX 580.

    However, if money is no object - at this price point - buy the $699 one.
     
  21. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #23
  22. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #24
    Actually you don't need to flash the 680, I don't know why he said that.

    You can optionally flash it, if you want, to gain boot screens. The RX cards currently have no way to be flashed for boot screens.
     
  23. BillyBobBongo macrumors 68020

    BillyBobBongo

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Location:
    On The Interweb Thingy!
    #25
    For that much money it would be wiser to join the Apple Developer Program and buy the External Graphics Development Kit. ;)
     

Share This Page