Mac Pro 5,1 GTX 970 GPU questions

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DJC631, Dec 22, 2015.

  1. DJC631 macrumors member

    DJC631

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    #1
    Hey MR, I just got a 2012 quad-core Mac Pro. Absolutely love it. Big step up from a 2011 Mini.

    I have a new ASUS gtx 970 'strix' OC edition and wanted to know a couple things:
    1. What are my options to flash EFI onto it, I have zero experience in this area.
    2. Can I just keep the 5770 in and get the EFI boot screen?
    I use windows a lot and would prefer to be able to boot without having to swap startup disks.

    Here's my specs just in case:
    [​IMG]

    Thanks for any help y'all can provide!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #2
    1. You can send it to Macvidcards. That's the only way at present.
    2. Theoretically, yes, BUT:
    a. There aren't enough power connections. You need three (2 for the 970, 1 for the 5770) but only two are available. You can try an auxiliary power supply or splitting one of the connections, but the cost/risk probably isn't worth it. A GT120 might be a better option, but there will be driver issues running both it and the 970 in Windows.
    b. You'll still need to do the boot-arg/web driver dance whenever there is a system update. This is unavoidable with the 970 and other Maxwell cards.
    c. It will take up a lot of physical space. You'd lose slot 3 at least, maybe even 4 depending on how tall your card is.​
     
  3. DJC631 thread starter macrumors member

    DJC631

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    #3
    What are the risks associated with flashing?
    Why would the 970 need two since it only has a single 8-pin power slot? And it is only 2 slots high.
     
  4. scott.n macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    #4
    I've never had a card flashed, so I don't know. But Macvidcards is very respected.

    I never heard of a single-connector 970 before. In that case I'd be worried that too much power will be drawn from the connection on the motherboard. It's only rated for 75W if I recall correctly.

    A second two-slot card will take up slots 2 and 3... Depending on the height of the fans and shroud it could make it difficult to use slot 4 as well. (I used to have a Gigabyte GTX 760 that was like that.)
     
  5. DJC631 thread starter macrumors member

    DJC631

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    #5
    I certainly hope not, otherwise I spent that cash for nothing. But I definitely don't want to damage my new MP either.
    Suggestions?
     
  6. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #6
    Single 8pin equals dual 6pin, both are rated @ 150W.
    The 970 shouldn't draw that much, but technically you'll exceed the limits with a 970 and 5770 installed.
     
  7. dingdini macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    #7
    From my experience, you'll be fine getting single 6-pin to 8-pin PCIe cable for your 970 (e.g: http://www.amazon.com/JacobsParts-E..._UL160_SR160,160_&refRID=1H96TTBFS2J4SHH3FJD1). I'm running a 2010 MP with dual EVGA SSC 970 (http://www.amazon.com/EVGA-GeForce-...8&qid=1450886007&sr=1-1&keywords=evga+ssc+970) cards each using a 6-pin to dual 6-pin cables (http://www.amazon.com/JacobsParts-E...450885816&sr=1-2&keywords=6+pin+to+dual+6+pin). Ran them very hard over the summer rendering blender scenes for my church's VBS production this year.

    There are reports from several others on this board that have similar experiences with running 970s off of the built-in 6-pins and everything being fine. There is also this thread that was put together with a way to provide even more power if needed from the MP power supply (http://forums.macrumors.com/threads/pixlas-4-1-mac-pro-mod.1859652/).

    Congratulations on your new MP. Hope you enjoy it.
     
  8. DJC631 thread starter macrumors member

    DJC631

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    #8
    This gives me hope, I have a cable like that in the mail already.

    Would a SATA-to-6/8-pin cable work as an alternative or supplement? I only use two for hard drives.

    It sounds like the best bet for me is just to do the 970 by itself to be safe. I'm only going to use it for gaming and some digital art in Photoshop so I don't expect to push it too hard.
     
  9. DJC631 thread starter macrumors member

    DJC631

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    #9
    Update:
    So far, so good. Got the 970 working with a single power cable for now.
    However, I don't have any audio over HDMI, is there a way to correct that?
     
  10. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
  11. DearthnVader macrumors regular

    DearthnVader

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Location:
    Red Springs, NC
  12. camrb2016 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    #12

    Hi, I think we have exactly the same setup and Im unable to get my GTX970 working. Im also running 10.11.2 (2010 Mac Pro), downloaded the latest Nvidia drivers but its still not working.

    Could you tell me what Nvidia driver version your using?
    Are you using both the GTX970 and Radeon 7700?
    What PCI slots are your cards in?
    What PCI cables did you end up connecting with? Ive got a 6pin to 6pin, the fan intermittently spins so its getting power, enough power though Im not sure?
    Are you running OS 10.11.2? I assume from your first post you still are.

    I tried step 24 from this thread but it didn't work. http://forums.macrumors.com/threads...out-nvidia-pc-non-efi-graphics-cards.1440150/

    Any other tips to help me would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
     
  13. DJC631, Jan 18, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2016

    DJC631 thread starter macrumors member

    DJC631

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Tuscaloosa, Alabama
    #13
    My driver version is 346.03.04f02 (as of Jan 19).
    I'm currently just using the GTX by itself. I've tried it in both the 1st and 2nd x16 slots with no issues in either, but I keep it in the bottom slot.
    Power-wise I had no problems using a single Mini-PCI to 8-pin cable, but I ended up using both power ports, 2x 6-pin cables, and a 2x 6-pin to 8-pin cable just to be safe. The fan on mine rarely ever even spins up.
     
  14. bax2003, Jan 20, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2016

    bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #14
    I just replaced Apple Radeon HD 5870 with ASUS STRIX GTX 970 4GB OC. One single 8-pin power connector from mini 6-pin to 8-pin adapter. No issues, fan are not spinning at idle, PCIe fan runs as before at 800 rpm.

    GTX is connected via HDMI cable to LG 40UB800V, 2160p (3840x2160) @ 30Hz. In bootcamp 3840x2160@60Hz no problems. Anybody with combo like this with 4K running via HDMI at 60 Hz ? Is it possible at this time, Maxwell 4K@60Hz via HDMI ?

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #15
    MR just released a buyers guide detailing 4K and 5K displays to use with Macs. I pointed out that covering 4K TVs should be a priority as that is going to be how MANY homes first get 4K.

    They claimed they only wanted to cover official Apple recs.

    Until Apple allows 4K HDMI you are out of luck. I got a Panasonic 4K TV with DP, only way to avoid this issue right now. It is a pity that MR doesn't want to share this useful info with their readers instead of just towing the official Apple line.
     
  16. bax2003, Jan 21, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2016

    bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #17
    For some reason script (command) does not give me a warning "detected unpatched IOKit and NVIDIA driver on (your OS X version)".

    This brings up a question: ReadMe says: Updated with El Capitan support!, and there are instructions below. This is clear. Below that is: "Instructions for updating the command for newer versions of IOKit". So, is the script (command file) enough or do we need to patch IOKit manually ?
     
  17. Fl0r!an macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    #18
    Bad timing I guess, yesterday it has been updated to 10.11.3.
     
  18. bax2003 macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #19
    10.10.5 - patched pixel clock limit, and added exactly the same spec resolution that works in Windows and nothing - no signal.

    Left side, screenshot from Windows and working 2160p resolution, right side: SwitchRes X and same specs - not working.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #20
    Someone just posted success using a DP to HDMI 2.0 adapter in OSX.
     
  20. knowhate macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    #21
    I remember reading on your site MacVidCards that the best GTX 970 to buy was the one with the matching ports on the description page. The one that matched was the GTX 970 FTW Edition- Is this still true? Or are Asus cards working also now?
     
  21. ActionableMango macrumors 604

    ActionableMango

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    #22
  22. Netherscurial macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    #23

Share This Page