Mac Pro 5,1 w/ Samsung 950 PRO problem

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vadrum, Dec 31, 2015.

  1. vadrum macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #1
    Hi guys!
    I just bought a Samsung 950 PRO M.2 ssd and a Lycom DT-120 pcie card for my Mac Pro 5,1.
    And here's the problem: I installed everything on pcie slot 3 but the Mac now doesn't boot.
    It shows me the white screen but I'm not able to boot normally into my El Capitan (installed in the tray 1) and even if I press the alt button, nothing happens.
    So, I tried to remove the DT-120 and it boots normally. Then I tried to put back the DT-120 but without the 950 PRO and it boots normally again.
    What's wrong with that? Could it be a damaged SSD? Or maybe I should do something before?
    Thank you! :)
     
  2. vadrum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #2
    ps. I tried the same thing on slot 4 but again, same problem
     
  3. vadrum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #3
    Aaah, it seems that cMP doesn't work with the 950 PRO M.2 because it is an NVME blade.
    Can you guys confirm it?
    And if yes, how can I delete this thread?
    Thank you...my bad! :(
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    You can download the NVMe driver and use that SSD as scratch disk, but no way to boot from it yet.
     
  5. pertusis1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Don't delete the thread... Might keep someone else from the same mistake.
     
  6. Fangio macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    #6
  7. vadrum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #7
    Just a quick update to share my joy with you guys...I returned the 950 PRO and got an SM951 AHCI.
    Quickly cloned the MAC OS X drive into the new SSD and voilà! It boots and the speeds are phenomenal :)
     

    Attached Files:

  8. SayCheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Thame, Oxfordshire, England
    #8
    The SM951 is the same as I'm looking at for my upcoming 5.1 purchase. Good to know it's as fast as claimed.
     
  9. markwilliams4321 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    #9
    Hi vadrum,

    Was that a 256GB SM951? I think the 512GB drive is even faster! Write speed anyway.
     
  10. SayCheese macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Location:
    Thame, Oxfordshire, England
    #10
    Yes the 512 I'm looking at
     
  11. vadrum thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    #11
    Yes, it is the 256GB version.
    --- Post Merged, Jan 19, 2016 ---
    And I also did the "enabletrim" thing through terminal and it worked easily and painless :)
     
  12. andrewhelmus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Location:
    Central FloriDUH
    #12
    Thanks for not deleting!! Saved me from error :)
     
  13. wolix macrumors newbie

    wolix

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2016
    #13

    Thanks for not deleting, saved my money as well. LOL
     

Share This Page