Mac Pro CPU replacement

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by vinnyb582, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. vinnyb582 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #1
    This is actually the second forum I registered to for help. I tried mac-forums, but no one had any clue.

    So, I got a great deal on a first generation Mac Pro. Well, most of the Mac Pro. $150 for everything but the hard drive, memory, and cpus. Which, memory and hard drives are no problem to get for the mac pro. However, CPUs on the other hand, WoodCrest and Clovertown 771 xeon core cpus work in these first generation Mac pros. But they're not so easy to find, even more at a price compared to say the Wolfdale, and Harpertown xeon cpus. Now these Mac pros using the 5000x chipset, it should have support for wolfdale and harpertown. But, also being the Mac is efi controlled, which I'm not to familiar with, would something like the EFI in the mac stop me from using Wolfdale or Harpertown cpus in the first generation mac pro?
     
  2. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #2
    Definitely!!! MP1,1 and MP2,1 have EFI32 and are not capable to run anything but Woodcrest and Clovertown.

    Wolfdale and Harpertown are for EFI64 in the MP3,1 only. You can take it to the bank.
     
  3. vinnyb582 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #3
    So then any woodcrest or clovertown xeon 771 would work. Hmm, thanks. :D Hopefully I can find a pair of them for pretty cheap.
     
  4. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #4
    ebay. and try to be patient. it may take some time to find a decent deal. also, go for a used pair.
     
  5. Ace134blue macrumors 6502a

    Ace134blue

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    #5
    Try newegg.?
     
  6. Techhie macrumors 65816

    Techhie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Location:
    The hub of stupidity
    #6
    Correct me if I'm wrong, but if I remember the 8 core Xeon Mac Pros use processors without an integrated heat spreader (IHS). These weren't available readily on the market, and were custom made for Apple. I don't know if this is true of older MPs, or only the more recent ones. I would read up on this beforehand, because I have read horror stories of fried sockets if you use the wrong CPU.
     
  7. handheldgames macrumors 6502a

    handheldgames

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    #7
    Agreed.. They show up every week or two in a batch of 2-4. You should be able to find a paid or x5365 / 3.0 Ghz 4 Core cpus for 800 or less...

     
  8. frimple macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #8
    That's the 09 model that you're referring to (without the heat spreader). 06 and 08 models have the lids on 'em ;)
     
  9. dsiew81 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #9
    Hmmm. I do recall reading that the 8-core 09 MPs have no IHS, but the Quads still retain them.
     
  10. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #10
    you don't have to worry about that on your mac pro, vinny.
     
  11. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #12
    Nice find Bozz. Wish these were around when I updated mine. Now if I could find a deal on some 3.2 harpertowns to upgrade my current mac pro. Not sure if its worth it though. Still tweeking my current home built pc with 2 2.5 harpertowns in her. Wish I could get leopard on it. :mad:
     
  12. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #13
    Am I the only on here who did the CPU upgrade to his 2006 Mac Pro that still uses the machine now?!?!:eek:
     
  13. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #14
    No. gugucom's still using his '06 with upgraded CPU's. :D Though not sure for how much longer, as he indicated the need for an EFI64 based system for compatibility reasons. ;) :p
     
  14. bearcatrp macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Location:
    Boon Docks USA
    #15
    It time to rid of it while you can bozz. You should still be able to get a descent price for it. The 2008 mac pro's run so much cooler too. Glad I got rid of it. Grab a refurb 2008 or spurge on the current gen's. Or, build a hackintosh! :D
     
  15. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
  16. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #17
    Perhaps a 2nd job and save the cash for an '08 MP? ;)
     
  17. bozz2006 macrumors 68030

    bozz2006

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2007
    Location:
    Minnesota
    #18
    all my money's going toward the new baby. and, it would have to be a third job. lol. diapers are EXPENSIVE!
     
  18. nanofrog macrumors G4

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    #19
    Oh. No sleep for you for the next few years then. :eek: :p
     

Share This Page