Mac Pro early 2008 :: video dead ati 2600XT

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Captain Iglo, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. Captain Iglo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #1
    Hello everybody,

    My early mac pro 2008 started to awake from sleep with a black screen.
    It worked 5 times to restart, but now video is completely dead.
    I never experienced wierd artifacts other then a black scereen.
    I tested with another monitor.
    I did not replace the vga adapter yet.
    Maybe try a pc card? Can you guys advise me on one that can be flashed easy and will work good with pro apps, I don't need a huge monster for gaming.
    O yeah, Im ofcourse out of waranty for a couple of month, lol.

    Hope this is enough information and you can help me,

    thx, captain iglo


    additional info: took the ati apart and checked for dust, but no dust to be seen.
     
  2. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #2
    GT120, 8800GT, 4870 (can be flashed), another 2600XT.

    Basically, look on ebay or in the 4870 flashing thread about what 4870s work with flashing.
     
  3. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #3

    I'm up for buying a flashed card, are you saying I can find one on ebay?
    I cannot do the flash myself cus have no video so I can't boot into windows, right?

    thanks for your support.
     
  4. Inconsequential macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    #4
    No go and have a read of the 4870/4890 flashing threads.

    You can do it with the 48*0 itself as it will work in windows.

    All you need is in those threads.

    Im tempted to buy a 4890 and flash it myself and sell the apple 4870...
     
  5. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #5
    I was reading there but so confused by all information, so I don't need to select a bootcamp startupdisk? Now it's OSX startupdisk, and I can't see anything so I can't change it to bootcamp partition startup.
    But since you are so explicitly telling me read up, I assume I can just stick this card in SOLO and take it from there. I will go and read some more in 4870/4890 forum,

    Thanks, Captain Iglo
     
  6. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #6
    Aha the Netkas method, ok. but I think the 4890 = overkill for me.
    Is there any chance somebody gives me an instruction for the 3870

    a: where to buy a 128 rom size version and cheap

    b: how to get it going in a mac pro without working video.

    c: need it quick

    or should I look into 8600GT?

    so confused, I don't need super gaming power, but want good Image for CS4

    and some 3d rendering
     
  7. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #7
    The 3870 Mac&PC is a very easy option. You stick it in and it will run in 10.5.7. No software or flashing involeved. Be aware that you may have to change the cooler though to have a quiet machine. I'm using a 19$ Akasa Vortexx Neo dual slot cooler which makes the 3870 very stealthy. Certainly less audible than your 2600. The performance will be more than adequate with some pretty good HDMI, HDCP and HDMI Audio features of this card. It also takes a lot less power than the 4870. The 3870 Mac&PC has a big 128kB ROM chip with OS X capability in EFI32 and EFI64 machines. It will run in every Mac Pro without any mods.
     
  8. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #8
    That is maybe the best option for me, Just checking if there is an aletrnative, that is easy and cheap as well.
    i don't mind to flash a card but I don't want to spend days troubleshooting.
    So probably you are right.
     
  9. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #9
    The 4870 flash is also quite simple. I have a XFX4870 with the flashed version. I don't use it because I need VGA for my Samsung HDTV. I would sell it for a reasonable amount. It only will make sense for Europeans due to duty hassle.
     
  10. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #10
    REMOVED grafixcard 2600XT, still it boots to where I can reach it over the network and I can still use it via firewire with booted in firewire target mode.

    I thought it wouldn't boot without grafix card.
     
  11. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #11
    i guess you can flash it on this macpro,

    create bootable cd/dvd with flashing app/rom

    insert 4870, boot macosx, insert that dvd , and select it as booting disk in sys-prefs (do it via vnc)
     
  12. remmy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2007
    #12
    Thats interesting, wouldnt of thought that possible either. Maybe the graphics card is dusty or its worth trying a different slot?

    Good luck in trying to get it going again.
     
  13. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #13
    Thanks Mister Netkas, is VNC enabled default?

    cheers
     
  14. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #14
    Thanks, I tried different slot and also no dust to be seen, I took the cooler of to see 4 sure.

    Thanks, I let you know how it goes, just in case you have one day the same like me. Hope not though.
     
  15. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
  16. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #16
    tried VNC vieuwer with no luck::connection refused, maybe vnc is off on MP.
     
  17. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #17
    I am fairly certain that if you can burn the FreeDos CD and get it in the CD drive, you will be able to choose it as startup by holding "C" at boot.
     
  18. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #18
    sounds like a plan, now a card that we can flash, I have a mac rom for the
    2600XT I saw aPC version for 25 euro's, can anyone tell if this is card that can be flashed? a gigabyte 2600XT.
    http://link.marktplaats.nl/264107310
    This would be my cheapest bet to get my MP going again.
    PLEASE!!
     
  19. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #19
    Thanks Rominator,

    so let's asume it will boot the windows boot cd,

    after it boots up, I will see video from the unflashed card?
    If not how should I issue the flash commands from the dos prompt?
    Must have been in the threads, but I missed that part.

    thanks
     
  20. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #20
  21. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #21
    I'm going to try a GT120, supposedly it should work on the '08 MP.
     
  22. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
  23. gugucom macrumors 68020

    gugucom

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    #23
  24. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #24
    for the moment the stockcooler, or someone has to tell me it's very noisy?
    I don't know if it's the single slot or double?
    How can I tell?

    cheers
     
  25. Captain Iglo thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009

Share This Page