Mac Pro FINALLY done!!

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by thankins, Dec 3, 2011.

  1. thankins macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #1
    Nope not another 'OMG the Mac Pro is no longer going to be sold' thread....about a month back got my Mac Pro with the following config

    3.33 ghz hex core
    1 TB hard drive
    3 GBs or RAM
    5870 Video Card

    After a month of buying parts I received my last part yesterday and now the system looks like this


    3.33 GHz Hex Core CPU
    1 x 240 GB OWC Mercury SSD (Primary Drive) w/ OWC Blue Sled
    2 x 2 TBs WD Caviar Black hard drives in RAID 0 (Media drive)
    Moved the 1 TB drive from above to sled 4 and gonna make it my Windows HD
    16 GBs of RAM

    It is a blazing machine and I am very happy with it. Not sure this warrantied a post but the missus just didn't appreciate it when I was telling her about it. :roll eyes:


    Cheers!
     
  2. daneoni macrumors G4

    daneoni

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    #2
    Awesome rig you've built there. May it serve you well.
     
  3. derbothaus macrumors 601

    derbothaus

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    #3
    I was going to say...

    Nice setup. Almost like mine.
    3.33GHz W3680
    12GB Memory 3x4GB Tri-channel (I have an extra 4GB stick for 16GB but the 12GB is faster and I don't need it yet)
    Radeon 5870 GPU
    OWC 6G 240GB Boot in lower DVD tray
    600GB WD Velociraptor 10,000RPM Home Directory
    2TB WD Caviar Green WD20EARS (The fast and quiet good one, no head parking noise)
    1TB Samsung F3 for Win 7 Pro
     
  4. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I'm still waiting for 1 more WD 2tb black and then I'll have very similar set up to u:

    2.8dc (upgrade to 6 once the warranty has expired, I might as well gt 3year AppleCare on the cheap from eBay/ebid)

    120gb 6g OWC SSD Drive with blue bracket thing in optical- apps - backed up 1/ 3 months using USB powered small drive / pen drive

    1tb as the home folder / all day to day stuff, backed up fortnightly on USB drive

    2x2tb WD blacks (I have a very lonely one waiting to get screwed up ready) - amazon now say '16th dec' ordered 4weeks ago.) RAID 0 for pro ress / premiere cs5 / after fx / motion 4 etc, backed up with g-raid 4tb after any new project.

    2tb WD green, kinda not that important, fill up with fcp old projects ready to transfer to ext. not too sure really.

    16gb ram from crucial
     
  5. thankins thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    #5
    Spoke to damn soon....

    Came home from shopping and came into the office and heard a clicking sound. The last WD 2 TB HD I bought was bad. And I just finished setting up my RAID and copying all 500 GBs of data over to it before we left.

    Now to track down a replacement...
     
  6. gglockner macrumors 6502

    gglockner

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2007
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    #6
    Good luck - hard drives are currently a scarce commodity.
     
  7. steveOooo macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    is there a way to test the hdds just as you first intstall them to see if there ok or not? problem is, ive been waiting over a month for my second hdd, so i dont know whether the one ive already got is faulty or not. - I did buy it 6 weeks ago so hopefully was pre flood made
     
  8. thekev macrumors 604

    thekev

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #8
    You should zero out the drive when you obtain it as opposed to doing a quick format.
     
  9. ashman70 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    #9
    Are you using a hardware raid controller, or onboard software raid?
     
  10. BigJohno macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #10
    Why?
     
  11. Major Reeves macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2009
    Location:
    EUSSR
    #11
    Zeroing the drive would only make sense if he had sensitive info in the drive, wanted to delete it and prevent it's recovery. That is why you have options like "Zero empty space" etc etc.
     
  12. wonderspark macrumors 68030

    wonderspark

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Location:
    Oregon
    #12
    When I built my 8-bay RAID tower, I just initialized as RAID0 and ran a few tests to make sure it all worked before re-initializing as RAID3. It takes seconds to initialize RAID0, and the tests should manifest any issues as far as I understand it.

    My drives are all pre-flood WD 2TB RE4 drives that I got for $204 each. I hate to think of replacing them all at today's prices! :eek:

    By the way, you guys are making me green with envy for the hex CPU. I found a W3680 new-in-box for $587, and I'm REALLY trying not to give in and buy it! Hahaha
     
  13. papoopeepoo macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    #13
    Zeroing the drive is a reliable practice for checking hard drives block by block. While zeroing, the hard drive takes note of corrupt or damaged blocks. This cataloging shows the reliability of the hard drive and avoids writing errors because the hard drive will know the corrupt blocks ahead of time, before writing those critical files.
     
  14. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #14
    yes you can zero it out and you can buy smart utility from volitans software version 3.0.2 not cheap

    http://www.volitans-software.com/


    25 for a personal license. but you can get a free trial which in your case would be enough
     

Share This Page