Mac Pro (Late 2013) GPU (Driver) Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bax2003, Mar 28, 2015.

  1. julik_tar macrumors newbie

    julik_tar

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #1001
    About to pick my MP with an OOW GPU-B replaced. I will make sure to torture it to death in the 90 days post-repair warranty period. And requisite parts for a PC build on order.

    So far this sets me back about 460e (failed "diagnosed and not reproduced" at the VAR and the OOW repair part+labor at Apple proper). We shall see.
    --- Post Merged, Apr 3, 2017 ---
    No, it's an nVidia 1080 Ti icon replicated at 8K res.
     
  2. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #1002
    OK Photoshoppers - challenge.

    Show us the 2017 "Sad Mac".

    At least 24-bit color and 8-bit alpha. ;)
     
  3. Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1003
    Screen Shot 2017-04-03 at 6.19.34 PM.png
     
  4. Idolum, Apr 4, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2017

    Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1004
    Well it's official the current wonderfully designed MacPro will get some unspecified minor updates soon and will be replaced with an all newly re-designed modular system within a year to two. I am sure I will get many years of continued joy out of my current and favorite MacPro of all time - albeit with an older OS X:

    "Apple also suggested that the "trash can" design of the current Mac Pro has restricted its ability to truly upgrade it."

    https://www.macrumors.com/2017/04/04/apple-updates-mac-pro-and-more/
    --- Post Merged, Apr 4, 2017 ---
    Here are some more details. It looks like the D300 has been retired in the low end MacPro and a new D800 is introduced in the high end MacPro. Not much else has changed. Should we call this the bax2003 mod?

    http://daringfireball.net/2017/04/the_mac_pro_lives
     
  5. Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1005
    The new D800 seems to be a typo in the original story. At least so far Apple's store only lists the D500 and D700 as the two exclusive 'new' options.
     
  6. bax2003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #1006
    No more D300 option, I wonder why....:(

    BTW, mine is still a big question mark...maybe complete replacement.
    2 months, 5 days and counting....
     
  7. beerstine macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #1007
    I literally just got my replacement on a 6 core D500 today for a machine that Apple could not fix after it started freezing and then refused to boot up at all (this was under El Capitan). The Apple Store finally ordered a replacement after replacing both video cards and cables, the logic board, and was unable to get a replacement SSD through their supply chain after waiting for two weeks. The whole exercise took nearly a month and in the end, nobody will admit to what was wrong with the original machine and why it couldn't be fixed.

    Just as I'm getting my new machine, I find out that Apple's admitting the failure of the current Mac Pro design and drops the value of my configuration $1000. Thanks for killing my resale value Apple.
     
  8. ManuelGomes macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Location:
    Aveiro, Portugal
    #1008
    Will the "new" nMPs come with Sierra on it? Working properly?
     
  9. julik_tar macrumors newbie

    julik_tar

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #1009
    Got my trashcan back, OOW repair GPU-B replaced. They also updated it to 10.12.4. Observations:

    - There was previously a menubar-sized block of corrupted texture after login during boot. This is now gone.
    - There was a chunk of corrupted texture being rendered in the Mosaic screensaver. That is gone as well.
    - I have run the machine with Mosaic and other screensavers for 6 days, and also started a full-screen OpenGL-heavy game yesterday. So far - no GPU unreadiness. Will be carefully monitoring.

    Since I can't allow this crap to be happening again I've meanwhile assembled a Skylake hackintosh with a 980Ti which alreayd works - just need a couple' more bits and bobs to get Thunderbolt devices running.
     
  10. Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1010
    I have my doubts whether a 'hackintosh' will run as reliable as my 'backintosh' but you can certainly make them look similar:
    imagic_pi_black.jpg
     
  11. julik_tar macrumors newbie

    julik_tar

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #1011
    Oh nonono this time I'm going for an actual Boring Box that Fits Alot Of Stuff and Can Be Ventilated Forcibly. And fits a Big Dam' Heatsink and a Whole Lotta Drives. And has a Power Supply That Can Power A GPU With Two Connectors And Enough Watts (tm)(R)
     
  12. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #1012
    10.12.4 updates the EFI driver for the mac pro. It is highly recommended that everybody in this thread with issues updates to it, if possible.
     
  13. magic carpet macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2017
    Location:
    Europe
    #1013
    ...about time I would say.
     
  14. poematik13 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2014
    #1014
    There's been several of these updates in the past, but 10.12.4 seems to be the most stable now. It also adds a 4K boot screen, which, I will say too that it's "about time". That should have been included in 2014.
     
  15. voyager77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #1015
    Did others who upgraded to this version also notice the loss of the apple logo on the startup screen and a considerable delay before the screen even comes up?
     
  16. julik_tar macrumors newbie

    julik_tar

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #1016
    So - first crash but a really weird one. Looks like I didn't get logged out but the machine restarted instead. I think it has to do with the OS update which now does something else on this GPU unreadiness thing. I'm saying "rebooted" because there was blinking on the IO illumination when it happened. But when I was scanning the logs I couldn't find a crash log and couldn't find a clear restart marker - since so much stuff gets restarted on login and spams the logs. Will monitor some more.
     
  17. voyager77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #1017
    What you had was probably a full system freeze and crash.
    Screen totaly freezes for a few seconds, not even mouse moves and followed by a system restart including lighting up the panel.
    There's nothing in the log, because the system was so frozen it couldn't write anything to it. It's basically the same as if you were to hardboot it by holding down the on button.
     
  18. axantas macrumors regular

    axantas

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Home
    #1018
    Yes, same problem here. No more picture until login-screen with a DELL p2415q Thunderbolt monitor IF in monitor setup MST is off. Secondary MST on (only half the possible refresh-rate) shows the usual startup pictures. I don't mind about the missing apple while starting up, but what's really annoying, you do not see the boot menu anymore (with ALT pressed) What are they thinking they are doing there at Apple? Too busy to weave the spring-collection of their watch bands... ??
     
  19. Idolum, Apr 12, 2017
    Last edited: Apr 12, 2017

    Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1019
    This customization might be a viable solution for the GPU issues while also making the discontinued MacPro D300 more powerful than any currently available Mac:
     
  20. julik_tar macrumors newbie

    julik_tar

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #1020
    Complete system freeze with no crashlog. This is going to be troubleshootable for sure :-(
     
  21. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #1021
    But at least Apple fixed the "GPU restart" problem.
     
  22. voyager77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #1022
    Where? When?

    Please let someone inform my mac pro about this so it won't have GPU restarts anymore.
     
  23. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #1023
    ...by turning it into a hard freeze.

    </joke>

    So the restarts are still happening? :(
     
  24. julik_tar macrumors newbie

    julik_tar

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2017
    #1024
    I can't say. It looks like they _arent_ for me, but I havent done hardcore GL work yet - just had this one odd crash - and the machine has been on 24/7 since I brought it in.

    Completely OT - on the hackintosh I assembled with nVidia's own drivers I also get GPU restarts now (channel timeout). I think the concept of a working fast GPU + OSX has become unpossible.
     
  25. axantas macrumors regular

    axantas

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Location:
    Home
    #1025
    you don't have to do "hardcore GL", julik_tar. Just sitting in front of your running MacPro is enough to make it crash. On the contrary. I never ever had crashes due to anything "hardcore". I run huge orchestras in Logic Pro without any problem. The reason for a crash can be the simple attempt to close the last Finder window before shutting down...
     

Share This Page