Mac Pro (Late 2013) GPU (Driver) Issues

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by bax2003, Mar 28, 2015.

  1. tomvos macrumors 6502

    tomvos

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Location:
    In the Nexus.
    #1201
    That's definitely to much. When I had an issue difficult to reproduce with a G5 long ago, I defined a limit how long the repair may take. The limit was two weeks on each repair attempt. I stayed in contact with Apple Support and told them after each repair attempt that the issue still persisted. After the third failed repair attempt I asked Apple what their next step to solve the issue would be. They finally replaced the whole system.

    My advise is to contact Apple Care and ask them politely how they want to solve the issue. But be firm in stating that you expect a solution in a timely manner.
     
  2. Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1202
    I now had two of the automatic log-outs in the last two weeks despite trouble free months earlier. The rate seems to increases the longer you use Sierra 10.12.6.

    I purchased a used MacBook Air for the sole reason that it can still runs Mavericks and might downgrade my MacPro again for the 5th time...o_O
     
  3. Pardo83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #1203
    It looks like the just-released High Sierra has a lot of improvements. I wonder if it will finally fix these freeze/log-out issues. I'm not able to test it, since I have many open projects that I need to finish first.
     
  4. pierre1610 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2009
    #1204
    Just upgraded from El Capitan to Sierra. Such a big mistake!!!

    I was having issues with the frozen screen but found if i used the keyboard shortcut and put the Mac Pro to sleep i could wake it up and carry on working without loosing work.

    Now it kicks me out to the login screen and when i login its as if the machine has just been turned on. This makes the machine entirely worthless.

    Any solution yet? Its a 2013 with D300's and 64GB of OWC ram.
     
  5. adonis3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #1205
    Anyone had issues with upgrading RAM from 16GB to 64GB? I have with my D700 system, bloody random crashes and freezing on El Capitan 10.11.6
     
  6. Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1206
    Could be the
    Mine always worked fine (64GB). That being said I just tried High Sierra and had the first spinning beach ball freeze up within 2 minutes while typing a web address into the browser. I couldn't even get to the 'Force Quit Applications' window with option, command & ESC and had to re-boot. Has anyone else tried High Sierra yet?
     
  7. adonis3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
  8. Pardo83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #1208
    I was wondering if using an external gpu would bypass the D300 and fix every issue?
     
  9. Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1209
    Nobody really knows. The only thing that is clear to me is that my particular MacPro works with very few lockups in Sierra 12.6, no lockups in Mavericks and 2 lockups within 5 minutes while using youtube trying out High Sierra.

    The first version of High Sierra was definitely a low point for me and I have tried out all prior OS X/macOS version for at least a week. Interestingly enough my previously downloaded version of Sierra 10.6 has been removed from my iTunes account so I installed Sierra 12.4 from an external drive which so far works great as well.

    Users are also discouraged from re-installing Mavericks and get a warning that it is too old and 'unverified' even when it was directly downloaded from Apple's server less than a few years ago. That doesn't bother me too much since I have a carbon copy of every OS ready to go since OS X 10.6.

    The effort that is put into making it difficult for people to downgrade would be better spend on making it easy for them to upgrade by fixing the lockup issue once and for all.
     
  10. JeffGeology macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2017
    #1210
    Hi all. I just had my 2013 Mac Pro repaired at an Apple Store. They replaced both D700 GPU's. I dropped it off on a Tuesday morning and had it back Saturday of the same week. So far everything is working correctly. It would have been covered under the 'soft recall' even if I did not have Apple Care. This is the second repair on this one - first was a memory riser card and part of the motherboard that caused me to lose half the ram. It was an Apple Care item. I am beginning to think Apple is really not maintaining QC. I will stay with them but i will ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS buy Apple Care - their products are just not what they used to be.
     
  11. Flint Ironstag macrumors 6502a

    Flint Ironstag

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2013
    Location:
    Houston, TX USA
    #1211
    Wonder if / when they'll run out of parts and start offering 7,1s instead.
     
  12. voyager77 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2012
    #1212
    What did you do, or who do you know to get apple care service in just 5 days???

    Mine has been in the shop for 8 weeks now (aka 2 months) and so far they have deceided to replace the main board (which probably won't solve the problem). They're still waiting on the parts to fix it and run more tests.
     
  13. Eric Bartsch macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    #1213
    I recently upgraded my OS to High Sierra on my MacPro (late 2013), which has been aggravatingly plagued with the problem described on this board since I unpacked it new from its box in 2014.

    Like many here, I tried upgrading the OS, took it several times to the Mac store, upgraded memory, tried different Thunderbolt buses to drive the video, sent diagnostic files to Apple, spent countless hours and emails describing the problem to their tech people, etc. etc. None of it worked. The crashes were always unpredictable and impossible to fix.

    Now, I think there is a new fix that is working.

    The recently released version of MacOS (High Sierra) supports external GPUs. Not perfectly (I don't think you can have your computer sleep and wake up with an eGPU attached). And, the eGPU boxes have fans, some reported noisier than others. Moreover, you need an AMD card (ideally an RX 580) that supports the Open GL drivers used by Mac. Bitcoin miners drove the price of these cards up by about $80 and sent them into backorder on the market. The backorder problem is solved (although the price is still high).

    Apple is sponsoring development of eGPUs, and now offers an external GPU box, an RX 580 8 Gig card, and a bus connector.

    https://developer.apple.com/development-kit/external-graphics/

    For a late 2013 Mac, you'll also need Apple's bidirectional Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 convertor, plus a Thunderbolt 2 cable to go from the computer to the convertor to the eGPU box. A Display port cable then goes from the RX 580 card to the monitor.

    After booting up High Sierra on your Mac Pro, and after configuring you eGPU box, connect the box to your MacPro. After a few seconds, you'll be prompted that, to use the eGPU graphics, you need to log out.

    Log out, (making sure you have an active monitor connected to the eGPU box) and then log back in. If all works well, you'll now be using the eGPU box to drive your display. Disconnect any monitors from the D300 or D700 cards, which (I think) have always been the culprit.

    I've been going a couple of weeks now. No beach balls. No freezes. No sudden log outs.

    I bought my gear to do this months ago, but then sat on it when the RX 580s went on backorder. Here is what I bought:

    1. Akito Node Box (~$269.00)
    2. Gigabyte RX 580 8 gig card (~$319.00)
    3. Apple's Thunderbolt 3 to Thunderbolt 2 convertor (~$49.00)
    4. Thunderbolt 2 cable & Displayport cable

    Not an investment I particularly wanted to make. And, I think the box supplied in the Apple developer kit is quieter (but also has a smaller power supply). But, the setup seems to have (finally) fixed the problem. And, the RX 580 video card, despite the minor fan noise, is a faster, superior card to the stock D300s found in my original MacPro. You won't get the same performance from the RX580 as you would across a pure Thunderbolt 3 connection. But, it does seem to be better than the native D300s. And, if all ultimately works, it will save your investment in a $4,000 computer.
     
  14. Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1214
    Thanks for the great info. It makes me wonder if these lockups are related the Metal API introduced in 2015.
     
  15. CC88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #1215
    That's a shame that one bought a 4k USD computer and have to spend another 700 USD to have it working.

    Also after adding external gpu the total space on the desk increase to a normal sized pc.
     
  16. Pardo83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #1216
    Thanks for reporting this, I think I'll try this route too. Even if my main concern is not the price but the added noise from the fans, since I bought the mac pro 2013 for being almost dead silent (using it in a music studio).
     
  17. CC88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #1217
    I think this is the same solution apple uses in developer kit:
    https://egpu.io/sonnet-breakaway-box-review-cool-quiet/
     
  18. Pardo83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #1218
    Thanks, really thinking of making the purchase now
    --- Post Merged, Oct 2, 2017 ---

    You say that Apple only allows external GPUs with High Sierra? Will they work good with Sierra? None of my softwares work with High Sierra yet. Lol, I love Apple so much...
     
  19. CC88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    #1219
    If you look closely at the article posted there are some hints and instruction on how to use the eGPU other than on High Sierra.

    With third party support the eGPU are extensively used on Mac. Read the blog and forum I linked to you:
    https://egpu.io/forums/
     
  20. Pardo83 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2015
    #1220
    Great, there's lot of info there ;)
     
  21. bax2003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #1221
    High Sierra works fine for a week. APFS is around 15-20MB/s faster than HFS+.

    Boot ROM is upgraded from MP61.0116.B46 to MP61.0120.B00.
     
  22. adonis3k macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2012
    #1222
    how did you upgrade rom?
     
  23. Idolum macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2016
    #1223
    I am now running the latest Boot ROM MP61.0120.B00 on D300 downgraded to Sierra. Works without issues so far.
     
  24. bax2003 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bax2003

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Location:
    Belgrade, Serbia
    #1224
    It is done automatically during High Sierra installation process.
     
  25. Infrared macrumors 68000

    Infrared

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    #1225
    Update: no lockups this last summer with Sierra on the basic D300 model.
     

Share This Page