Mac Pro memory question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dannyhansen, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. dannyhansen macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Nor. California
    #1
  2. philipma1957, Sep 25, 2011
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #2
    http://www.staples.com/Edge-2GB-PC2...leBase:Technology:Pc_Memory:744125:PE20852302


    this is non ecc much cheaper the sticker is you need ecc type


    it is like buying a new part for an old car. costly as there are not made anymore or made in small amount. i don't know pricing for your machine but I know it is expensive



    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/64FB2MPK04GB/

    http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other World Computing/64FB2MPK08GB/



    crucial below

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148219


    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148189


    be careful with your order I don't know much about your macpro..

    I know you need to get the right ram.
    I know it is not cheap.

    I know matching and ecc is important.

    try and find a member that has your make and model mac pro. double check the ram with him before you buy.
     
  3. skyton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    england
    #3
    I have been having the same issues with a 2006 pro

    The prices are crazy - I have seen the same money can buy at least twice as much, and sometimes four times the amount of memory, for a newer pro :mad:
     
  4. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 6502a

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #4
  5. dannyhansen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Nor. California
    #5
    At this point am I better off buying a mac mini and spending the money on the 8gigs of Ram?
     
  6. gullySn0wCat macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    #6
    @OP

    Yes, unless you "need" a Mac Pro.

    RAM for the 2006 and 2008 MP is expensive because it uses a high-tech kind of RAM that never really caught on outside of servers because it was A) expensive and B) hot.
     
  7. skyton macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Location:
    england
    #7
    That's really interesting, and explains the huge heat sinks on either side of my memory sticks!
     
  8. CaptainChunk macrumors 68020

    CaptainChunk

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #8
    To my knowledge, all Intel 5300/5400 chipsets required FB-DIMMs per spec.


    skyton:

    The cost of manufacturing (added to the fact that the demand is pretty low) FB-DIMMs makes them very expensive. Apple-specific ones cost even more because they require special heatsinks. It's the primary reason I've avoided maxing out my 2008 MP to 32GB (over $1k at OWC). I'll likely keep this machine at 16GB and replace it with a newer Pro (if I go that route again, anyway) eventually.
     
  9. dannyhansen thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Nor. California
    #9
    thanks for the help. I purchased 8 gigs from Crucial this morning. I can't give away my 60 pound monster of a machine just yet.
     
  10. OzDoug64 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2011
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Australia
    #10

Share This Page