Mac pro No Display at startup

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mohammedamr, Apr 17, 2017.

  1. mohammedamr macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #1
    Hello everyone i have a problem when my mac pro startup there is no loading screen its just boots directly to the startup disk
    What can i do can anyone help

    Mobo:Mac Pro (Early 2008)
    CPU:2 x 3.2 GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon
    Graphics:NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti 2047 MB
    Ram:9 GB 667 MHz DDR2 FB-DIMM
     
  2. StuAff macrumors member

    StuAff

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portsmouth, UK
    #2
    Rough guess, your graphics card doesn't have Mac EFI firmware, hence no boot screen.
     
  3. Synchro3 macrumors 65816

    Synchro3

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    #3
    The graphics card needs to be flashed with a Mac-EFI-firmware for boot screen.

    -> http://www.macvidcards.com/store/p81/Nvidia_Flashing_Services.html
     
  4. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #4
    It's normal for your setup
     
  5. mohammedamr thread starter macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #5
  6. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #6
    You Mac Pro 3,1 is a Macintosh.

    Since your config now is with a non Apple stock / Mac EFI GPU. So, no boot screen is NORMAL.
     
  7. mohammedamr thread starter macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #7
    because i am using Nvidia GTX 750ti
     
  8. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #8
    Yes, you already mentioned that you are using a non-Apple vid card.
    It is normal to NOT see a boot screen with a non-Apple vid card.
    If you want to see a boot screen, then you have to flash the card.
    You can ship your vid card to the service (macvidcards.com) that you asked about.
    They will get your card flashed with Mac EFI firmware, so you will then see a boot screen.
    Your GTX 750ti is one that they specifically support.
     
  9. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #9
    Partly correct, GPU is the problem, but not because it's a 750Ti.

    It's because you are using a PC GPU (non Mac EFI GPU). If you bought a Mac EFI 750Ti from MVC, your Mac will gives you the boot screen.

    For non Mac EFI GPU, regardless if it's a 750Ti, TitanX, or HD5870, no boot screen will avail.
     
  10. mohammedamr thread starter macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #10
    Okay thank you very much
    --- Post Merged, Apr 17, 2017 ---
    Tell me can clover fix this problem
     
  11. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #11
    It's totally possible. I've installed cover on one of my backup drive. Do the required setting (inject ATI in my case). But no time to pull out all other hard drives and test the result yet.

    If you have time, you can try it yourself. Install cover, make it auto boot to cover with Nvidia injected.
     
  12. mohammedamr thread starter macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #12
    so if i install cover will it work
    --- Post Merged, Apr 30, 2017 ---
    if i flash my card will everything work perfect
     
  13. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #13
    No, not yet, Cover is still under experiment.

    Yes, a flash 750Ti should work perfectly (assume Nvidia web driver correctly installed and seclected). And I don't think that you can flash the card by yourself. If you pick this route, you better send it to MVC for flashing.
     
  14. mohammedamr thread starter macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #14
    why is flashing hard I mean can it be done with Rufus
     
  15. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #15
    The hardest part is that you have to develop the Mac EFI ROM by yourself.
     
  16. mohammedamr thread starter macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #16
    so you prefer going to a store and someone will flash it
    but ,what should i tell them
     
  17. h9826790 macrumors 604

    h9826790

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    #17
    Only one guy on the world did that. No 2nd best option.

    http://www.macvidcards.com
     
  18. mohammedamr thread starter macrumors newbie

    mohammedamr

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2017
    Location:
    Kuwait City
    #18
    maybe I will be that guy and thank you very much for your support
     

Share This Page