Mac Pro now or wait?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by badlydrawnboy, Nov 30, 2007.

1. badlydrawnboy macrumors 65816

I'm a digital photographer currently using a G5 dual-core 2.0Ghz. I'd like to upgrade to a mac pro. I use Photoshop CS3 and Lightroom primarily. No 3D, no video rendering, no gaming. Just 25-250MB digital image files.

I was planning to wait for the rumored Penryn Mac Pro in January. However, in another forum (Mac Gurus, where they write extensively on optimizing Macs for Photoshop use), the moderator said that Photoshop can't really take advantage of 8-cores anyhow, so the speed difference between the current Mac Pros and the Penryn's is likely to be negligible for my usage. He said if I was doing video and 3D, it would be different.

What do you all think of that? One advantage to buying now is that I could get a refurb for a substantial discount, and use the extra $$ to buy more RAM and fast hard drives - which would arguably have a bigger effect on system/Photoshop performance than the new Penryn processor.

Comments?

2. techlover828 macrumors 68020

techlover828

I think that down the road more programs will be able to take advantage of 8-cores and more advanced processors so I'd say its worth the wait, especially since it is only two months away.

3. Sean Dempsey macrumors 68000

Sean Dempsey

If you want it now, and can use it now, and the money isn't going to break the bank, I say do it.

I got my Mac Pro in July, when they were supposed to be released "in august"... well now it's November and my Mac Pro still rocks.

If you can find one used or refurb'd, that's not a bad bet. If you like and can afford the current Mac Pro, why not? What makes you so sure that you're going to like/afford the next revision anyways? Maybe the price is higher, maybe it is missing a feature you want.

Fact is, Mac Pro 2.0 is still 100% Vaporhardware.

4. jnc macrumors 68020

jnc