Mac Pro (pre 2014 models) and Handoff/continuity

Discussion in 'OS X Yosemite (10.10)' started by HaggSpart, Jun 19, 2014.

  1. HaggSpart macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #1
    Just saw this at Netkas. I, too, have a older Mac Pro (2009) and am interested in this.

    Looks like the guy found an adapter from the interface of the Wifi/BT4.0 card (from a newer mac) to mPCIe which the Mac Pro has.

    http://netkas.org/?p=1341

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Cheers.
     
  2. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #2
    Um, there is no such thing as a 2014 Mac Pro.
     
  3. HaggSpart, Jun 19, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 23, 2014

    HaggSpart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #3
    Late 2013 then. Christ, you know what I mean. The redesigned Mac Pro.
     
  4. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
  5. HaggSpart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #5
    Looks like that card, pulled probably from a newer iMac or MacBook Pro. However, this one would need to be converted to mini PCI-express to fit in a Mac Pro (pre-redesign).
     
  6. Skvo, Jun 20, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2014

    Skvo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    #6
  7. HaggSpart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #7
  8. PeterHolbrook macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
  9. HaggSpart thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #9
    Seems like it would, but remember that 10.10 doesn't run on older Mac Pros.

    ----------

    http://h5.m.taobao.com/awp/core/detail.htm?spm=0.0.0.0&id=23075240926

    This one appears to be the converter by itself. Anyone with Chinese literacy, chime in.
     
  10. PeterHolbrook macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2009
    #10
    Thanks for the hint, but it seems it does run, if you know how. I've run Mountain Lion and am running Mavericks without any trouble on my Mac Pro 1,1. And it seems I'll also be able to run Yosemite on it. For the time being, via Chameleon, but there might be an even easier way in the near future.
     
  11. vista980622 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    #11
    I read Chinese but it seems to be made for building hackintosh.

     
  12. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #12
    Stop worrying

    BT 4.0 via USB can be done for less than $75 in parts if you don't mind a USB ugliness hanging from your machine. Will likely also require an external antenna on most, but BT 4.0 will be doable.

    Can be a whole lot cheaper if you don't mind a driver hack with each OS update.

    But thee way i have thought up will ALWAYS work, no matter what.
     
  13. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #13
    If you meant late 2013 then you should say that rather than saying something else.

    Very mature resorting to name calling. :rolleyes:
     
  14. Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #14
    You know what he meant...you were being annoyingly pedantic.

    I thought the whole point of this is that external BT dongles don't work, though. The reason this does is it's using the same Apple parts.
     
  15. brand, Jun 22, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014

    brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #15
    I do not know him as a person, his background, or his technical knowledge so all I know and can go by is what he said. Since this is a technical forum it would be wrong to assume someone means something other than what they said rather than trying to get clarification.

    There is nothing wrong with correcting technical inaccuracies so that everyone can communicate with an accurate understanding and on the same level.
     
  16. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #16
    read the linked article and see where he got the parts;)

    We will be offering a USB solution that should work for anyone with Mac that can run 10.10
     
  17. Cougarcat, Jun 22, 2014
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2014

    Cougarcat macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    #17
    In principle, I would agree, but not in this case. It is obvious which Mac Pro he meant, considering the previous model came out, when, 2010? And nobody actually received their "2013" MP in 2013.

    Also, if you wanted to correct him, there are more polite ways to go about it. Your "Um" came off as more than a little smug.

    I did, but the (extremely vague) article said the part was pulled from an iMac. Hence my confusion.

    Will your USB solution work with hackintoshes?
     
  18. arn macrumors god

    arn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2001
    #18
    If you have a reliable USB solution that is recognized by handoff, let us know when u are ready (tips@macrumors.com) -- obviously people are going to be very interested if the alternative is upgrading machines.

    arn
     
  19. Caesar_091 macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #19
    Will continuity work with a Mid 2012 Mac Pro?

    Code:
      Apple Bluetooth Software Version:	4.2.4f1 13674
      Hardware Settings:
      Address:	8C-2D-AA-2C-21-0A
      Manufacturer:	Broadcom
      Chipset:	2046
      Firmware Version:	v207 c509
      Bluetooth Power:	Off
      Discoverable:	Off
      Auto Seek Keyboard:	On
      Auto Seek Pointing:	On
      Remote wake:	On
      Vendor ID:	0x05AC
      Product ID:	0x8215
      HCI Version:	0x4
      HCI Revision:	0x1FD
      LMP Version:	0x4
      LMP Subversion:	0x21CF
     
  20. MacVidCards Suspended

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Location:
    Hollywood, CA
    #20
    You will likely need to add a BT 4.0 module that works with OSX.

    Your code snippet isn't from Yosemite, is it?
     
  21. MacProSector, Jun 24, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2014

    MacProSector macrumors member

    MacProSector

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Location:
    Urbana, IL
    #21
  22. Caesar_091 macrumors regular

    Caesar_091

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Italy
    #22
    No, it wasn't.
    I've installed Yosemite beta 3 only yesterday.
     

Share This Page