Mac Pro purchase question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by blunti, Jun 9, 2011.

1. blunti macrumors 6502a

I recently moved back from Europe to the States. I sold the 8 core in Europe.

I work as a professional editor and I also use After Effects heavily.
    question is : the 8 core was ok but I wasn't really satisfied with it and now I'm debating between the "sweet spot" 6 core and the 2.66 12 core.

Price in this case is not the problem. Heavy After effects and Avid Media Composer. (Obviously will purchase FcpX when it's available)

Pretty much just need some help to decide which one of these will fulfill my needs more than the 8 core westmere did.

thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. philipma1957, Jun 9, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2011

philipma1957 macrumors 603

philipma1957

well if it is for business buy an 2010 eight core 2.4 and mod it to a dual hex 3.46 . it is the fastest machine that is a mac pro.

here is a refurb for 2969

http://store.apple.com/us/product/FC561LL/A?mco=MTkyMTM2MDQ

new cpu's with warranty

http://cgi.ebay.com/Intel-Xeon-Six-...770?pt=CPUs&hash=item3a669ba9e2#ht_3842wt_813

3230 for a pair total cost is 6200 for a dual hex 3.46GHz

apple charges 6200 for a dual hex 2.93

the upgrade is under 2 hours to do and is not difficult. it would be the best a mac pro can do

3. blunti thread starter macrumors 6502a

thanks for the quick reply. The system you recommended is really sweet. however I don't want to have any problems IF it turns out I need to send the system back for repair or something.

On the other hand $6200 seems just a little steep considering it's a 2010 model. I can justify spending 4700-4800 on the system itself (2.66 12core) but $6200 with a (possible) new design and architecture change just around the corner seems a bit too much. I'm installing tons of ram and an ssd for boot, but I have a seperate budget for that.