Mac Pro Unboxing Photos, Early Benchmarks and Notes

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
    The new hexacore 2010 Mac Pros have been filtering in over the past few days to the first lucky customers. Here is a set of unboxing pictures from Recruit in Japan. They show the Mac Pro, the SSD drive, ATI Radeon 5870, and new Hexacore Xeon CPUs.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Additional photos and notes are summarized here:

    - 64-bit kernel is now default for the 2010 Mac Pros
    - Unboxing photos from OWC
    - More photos from the forums
    - OWC confirms that the new Mac Pros can support up to 64GB of RAM
    - Early Cinebench and Geekbench benchmarks for the 2010 Mac Pro
    - Portal (game) benchmarks.

    The early benchmarks predictably show that in Geekbench and Cinebench, the 12-core Mac Pros see a significant benefit. Of course, the benchmarking tools are optimized for multi-core support. On the other extreme, Portal benefits little from the additional cores. Of course, real life results will likely fall somewhere in between depending on your particular software needs.

    Article Link: Mac Pro Unboxing Photos, Early Benchmarks and Notes
     
  2. HLdan macrumors 603

    HLdan

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
  3. DylanLikesPorn macrumors 6502

    DylanLikesPorn

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    #3
    Damn. This is one fine piece of machinery. Sexy.
     
  4. karatekidk macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, USA
  5. DMann macrumors 601

    DMann

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    10023
    #5
    Simply sensational - a thing of beauty.

    Looking forward to the delivery.
     
  6. CFreymarc Suspended

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    #6
    1 TB RAM and a big battery backup, who needs hard disks then?
     
  7. kajoob macrumors member

    kajoob

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    #7
    Why such a pedestrian videocard in an otherwise brilliant machine? It's a decent card, but for a rig that costs around $4000 or so, it's disappointing.
     
  8. DMann macrumors 601

    DMann

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Location:
    10023
    #8
    Hardly cost effective - but, ya!
     
  9. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #9
    truly a piece of artwork - those pictures are brilliant! :)

    i cant wait until the day that i can afford one! *drool*
     
  10. kk1ro macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
  11. oTaRu macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    #11
    +1 for mac pro!!! how i wish i can own one... :D
     
  12. djourd macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
  13. DickKnowsBest macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #13
    I agree. It's a decent card. But I think they should have included a 5870 standard, and a 5970 option. Also, maybe an Nvidia Quadro FX 4800/5800 option. Well, since Apple seem to be moving to ATI for their desktop GPU options, maybe an ATI Fire Pro V8800. Because if you are paying $5000 for a machine like this, a 5870 is good, even for professional work, but not GREAT. And be serious, you aren't going to be buying a 12 core machine JUST for gaming. Or are you? :0
     
  14. Mudbug Administrator emeritus

    Mudbug

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2002
    Location:
    North Central Colorado
    #14
    the three we ordered should be here tuesday or wednesday. :)
     
  15. SynapticLight macrumors newbie

    SynapticLight

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Location:
    Cape Town
    #15
    I can only dream.
    So how many PCI slots are available? After the Graphics card is in?
     
  16. JGowan macrumors 68000

    JGowan

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2003
    Location:
    Mineola TX
    #16
    I'm very happy to say I'm getting a 12-core on Wednesday...

    Two 2.93GHz 6-Core Intel Xeon (12-core)
    8GB (4X2GB) SDRAM
    ATI Radeon HD 5870 1GB
    2TB 7200-rpm Serial ATA 3Gb/s
    Two 18x SuperDrives
    Magic Mouse + Magic Trackpad

    It's replacing a 2002 PowerMac G4 (Dual 1GHz; 1.5GB Ram; 80GB HD)

    Totally trading up. Getting two 27-inch Displays in a few weeks from Apple.

    Psyched!!
     
  17. bananas macrumors 6502

    bananas

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
  18. rmbrown09 macrumors 6502a

    rmbrown09

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    #20
    Or you could have just bought,
    [​IMG]
     
  19. Acceleroto macrumors member

    Acceleroto

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #21
    I got a new 2.4GHz 8-core with 8GB of RAM & the 5870. I compared results to a friend's 2008 2.8GHz 8-core and it's faster by a measurable margin in Geekbench.

    Geekbench 32-bit score was 13,051 -
    http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/282053

    Geekbench 64-bit score was 14,517 -
    http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/282051

    Cinebench OpenGL was 26.22fps & CPU was 8.67.

    I ran a Portal Demo for BareFeats.com at 1920x1080 resolution & it ran 297fps with AA off & 225fps with 4x AA (all other video options set to high & motion blur on).

    The test I ran for them on X-Plane at 1920x1080 resulted in framerate of 143fps.

    FWIW, it compiles code in Xcode about 4.6 times faster than my 2008 2.4GHz C2D iMac.

    I don't have real-world results yet from After Effects renders, but it crushes my iMac (go figure). However, After Effects wants more than 8GB of ram to use all 16 virtual cores/threads. If you turn the dial all the way up on render speed, it'll jump on 14.

    Cheers,
     
  20. techapocalypse macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    #22
    Does anyone know if they're gonna make a 5970 for this thing? that'd be a monster...
     
  21. avkills macrumors 6502

    avkills

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    #23
    The 6-core 3.33Ghz would actually be better for gaming. But yeah I am drooling for one of those 12-cores for the edit suite at work.

    -mark
     
  22. Fa7mac macrumors regular

    Fa7mac

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Macau
    #24
    LOL. lucky you :p LOL
     
  23. slippyr4 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    #25
    Are you sure? maybe these new Mac Pro's are running Commodore 64 KERNAL, not a 64bit kernel.
     

Share This Page