Mac Pros can use 96GB of RAM

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Tucom, Jul 25, 2011.

  1. Tucom macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #1
  2. mulo macrumors 68020

    mulo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Location:
    Behind you
    #2
    not gonna go for it, but the simple answer as to what its going to get used for is rendering, optimum rendering conditions requires at least 3GB ram for each thread on the CPU, so if you have a simple quad core, your already looking at 24GB ram.
    a 12 core this way requires 72GB ram
     
  3. Tucom thread starter macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #3
    Boggles the mind that there now can be more RAM in a system that what many Windows PCs shipped with in terms of HDD space :eek:


    Thanks for that rendering info, anyone else have any contributions?
     
  4. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #4
    What Windows machine ships with less than a 250gb hard drive? Only Macs ship with smaller capacity drives!
     
  5. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #5
    Lots of Macs shipped with far less storage than that, too.
     
  6. Etherz10 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    i swear this topic has been posted many times on this forum before
     
  7. FluJunkie macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    #7
    Several programs I use load their datasets into RAM for swift access, and getting them not to is...tiresome.

    Work I've done has actually at one point *killed* a 96GB machine - I had to terminate the job because it was running out of memory, and work on a new solution.
     
  8. accessoriesguy macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2011
    #8
    ugh too limited, need even more RAM than this! :rolleyes:

    This is of course util for servers, who handle multiple user accounts. major tech firms, provide powerful servers, which multiple workers sign into and use to get their work done. Such as 3D development and etc.

    For the average user, this is of course for awesomeness rights! :D
     
  9. philipma1957, Jul 25, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2011

    philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #9
  10. Tucom thread starter macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #10
    SPAM!

    Haha, I kid. Always good for getting deals, thanks.


    I was refering to not too long ago many Windows machines (and probably some Macs too) shipped with 40-80GB HDD's as standard. So yeah, mind boggling much right? :eek:
     
  11. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #11
    Macs are the ones that offer the smaller drives. Windows machines always offered at least 50% more capacity even for the most basic machines unless you are referring to netbooks!

    When I got my macbook in late 2006, it came with either 60Gb for the basic, 80Gb for next model up and 120Gb if I paid an extra $250 to get the black model!

    The Gateway and Sony models under 1k were coming with 160-250Gb drives even back then!
     
  12. philipma1957 macrumors 603

    philipma1957

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Howell, New Jersey
    #12
    my 2006 mac mini had a 60gb hdd!
     
  13. CaoCao macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    #13
    My 2005 Dell Workstation came with an 80GB HDD...
     
  14. Tucom thread starter macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #14
    Yeah some machines had higher capacity drives, but back in 05, 06, and especially around 2003-4, 256MB for RAM was the starting point yet now we have machines, desktop machines, that can have more RAM than many people use HDD space.


    I wonder if it'll ever get to the point where computers ship with 32gb+ RAM as default, just for basic useage. I think it will, but if and when is the question I think? Thoughts?
     
  15. toxic macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    #15
    someone should try running OS X off a RAM disk. 96 GB is plenty of space... :rolleyes:
     
  16. ForI macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #16
    Tell that to my Mac Classic and its 20MB hard drive, or my old AT&T PC6300 with its 5MB half-height 5.25" hard rive.
     
  17. Tucom thread starter macrumors 65816

    Tucom

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #17
    Hahaha a Classic, classic, though I must have missed the Mac Classic debut in 2004 when I bought my eMachines (still kicking, solid machines) with a 60GB HDD :rolleyes: :D

    Props on the Mac Classic, how's Crysis on it?
     
  18. Lone Deranger macrumors 65816

    Lone Deranger

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Location:
    London
    #18
    The bigger news is how fast these prices are dropping. On the 1st of June 2011 when that Blog entry was first made, the price was $3199. Now, less than two months later the price has dropped to $2499. :eek:
     
  19. ForI macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2011
    #19
    Well it takes 15 seconds to load The Clock program.
     
  20. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #20
    The machines at my workplaces ship in with 160GB drives; it's really all that's needed since you're only suppose to have so much stuff stored locally.
     
  21. Elisha macrumors 6502a

    Elisha

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    #21
    That's not the point. Overcharging for 1/3 of the current market capacity is! Especially when it comes to the non Pro machines that is more of a hassle to upgrade internal components!
     

Share This Page