Mac will not boot - HELP

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by iTzChasE, Jan 2, 2009.

  1. iTzChasE macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #1
    I tried to install windows xp, and it was installing then my computer shut off. Now when I turn it ok it goes to a black screen with a little "_" blinking. I can't do anything. I can boot from the cd, so what do I do? I don't care if I loose files. I have most of them backed up. What do I do?

    I have an external hard drive if I need to use that.


    Edit: FIXED, thanks to finnschi.
     
  2. Hankster macrumors 68020

    Hankster

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #2
    The short is there was an issue when you installed Windows. What you can do is reboot and hold down the OPTION key, it will bring up a screen where you can select to boot up in OSX.
     
  3. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #3
    Hold down Option after the boot tone and pick your OS X partition again.

    It sounds like some of the Windows files were installed and it's attempting to boot off of that. You'll have to start the process again by booting off of the Windows installer disc.
     
  4. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #4
    I tried the only thing there is windows and it goes to the black screen. :(
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    You didn't erase and reformat the OS X partition, right?
     
  6. Solemony macrumors 6502

    Solemony

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Location:
    Wonderland
    #6
    Try resetting PRAM? Or use the installation disk that comes with it? Or even take out the battery and putting it back in to see what happens?
     
  7. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #7
    No. I don't think so. What If I accidently did. Can I reinstall it? The only destination it say I can install os x is my external hard drive.

    I'm on the instalation cd what do I do from there?
     
  8. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #8
    If you can boot off of the CD why can't you use Option for the EFI bootloader? You might have damaged the filesystem somehow. Is there anything in Disk Utility?
     
  9. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #9
    Would you care to explain what any of that is, and how I would go about doing that? This is my first mac and Im a..... Noob

    Edit
    In disk utility it has just the 232.9 gb hd and my mybook
     
  10. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #10
    facepalm.app

    Did you hold down Option after hearing the boot tone? It sounds like you trashed the filesystem. Is any disk space used? What about the Windows partition? Are their any partitions on the hard drive?
     
  11. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #11
    Yeah when I hold down option it says.
    Windows. And mac os install DVD
     
  12. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #12
    Hope you got a backup. It sounds like the disk is done for and needs to be reformatted. Any idea at what part the Windows installer died at?
     
  13. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #13
    There is about 18 gb missing. And I don't see any partitions
     
  14. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #14
    No. So basicly I'm screwed. What If I install os x on my hard drive and boot from that. Will I be able to do anything from there?
     
  15. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #15
    If you can't do an Archive & Install from the DVD then it's going to be tough to get your data back.

    You might try installing OS X on an external and see what it can read from the onboard hard drive.
     
  16. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #16
    Why can I see my internal hard drive. All I see is the external my book.
    The options on that are
    Install mac os x. Or
    Erase and insatll - options. Mac os extended ( case sensitive, journaled) or mac os (journaled)

    I don't care about files or anything. It's almost new so I don't have much on there
     
  17. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #17
    Ok so its fairly easy, you trashed your filesystem. you now have 3 options

    1.Totaly Whipe your harddrive and reinstal OSX

    2.Get a external enclosure for you sata 2.5" Harddrive, and connect that to your PC, and then try to salvage any files using data recovery software

    3. Boot up using A linux Live CD , Knoppix should be fine, than try to rescue any files !
     
  18. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #18
    How do I do option one. I'm on my iPhone and I'm to lazy to search the Internet.
     
  19. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #19
    ok then boot up using the install DvD open Disk utility and ERASE the Internal harddrive,... in HFS + journaled (osx journaled) be sure to select the hardrive and not a partition before pressing erase:

    Samsung 250gb blah blah
    Partition 1
    partziton 2


    could also be taht you dont have any partitions... just ERASE the harddrive .

    then close the utility and follow onscreen instructions to isntall OSX !
    Its really straight forward!
     
  20. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #20
    I know what you mean ;) :D
     
  21. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
  22. iTzChasE thread starter macrumors 6502

    iTzChasE

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    #22
    I will go ahead and try that.

    Oh wow. I have learned my lesson. Just screw windows. I know it's prolly fly fault but Its just not worth it.

    Edit: I am installing back onto the hard drive.
    "installing mac OS X on the volume Untitled"
    I can change that to macintosh Hd after it's done right. LOL
     
  23. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #23
    Thats normal Formatting 250Gb will show up as like 232... its Fine... (I wont go into the techincal stuff) ;)
     
  24. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #24


    Oh well now you got me :) I Never found a option for that hahahaha :eek: :eek: :eek: :apple:
     
  25. finnschi macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    #25
    Just use Paralles for windwos stuff... works fine for me :D :cool:
     

Share This Page