macbook 4gb ram upgrade?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by heliocentric, Jun 6, 2010.

  1. heliocentric Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #1
  2. Marty Macfly macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
  3. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #3
    i have done research i just wanted some confirmation before i ordered

    thanks
     
  4. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #4
    For confirmation, you can always buy at Crucial (www.crucial.com), which lets you order RAM for your specific Mac model - you don't say "this is the specs for the RAM", you say "I have this exact MacBook model, send me right memory" - if it doesn't work, it's _their_ problem.
     
  5. stridemat Moderator

    stridemat

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    To make sure you are buying the correct RAM, download and run the Crucial system scanner. It will tell you exactly what RAM your machine can take and how much. I would also recommend the RAM they sell as it has never failed me.
     
  6. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #6
    Both should be okay. Kingston is very reliable brand so you shouldn't have any issues.

    Crucial is great but lately I've found their price to be way too much
     
  7. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #7
    thanks i will go for kingston ones then.

    does it matter that im not buying them in a 4gb set but 2 seperate 2gb sticks that i will be pairing together?
     
  8. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #8
    No. 2x2GB kit is just two 2GB modules in one package. There is zero difference
     
  9. alex.purple.mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #9
    I would also recommend crucial, they were very quick and slightly cheaper than other places, and like it says above, if it doesn't work, its their fault.

    I bought some RAM from PC World that said suitable for Macbook on the front, but they didn't work in my Macbook. So I took them back and bought them off crucial instead, like I should have done in the first place.
     
  10. alex.purple.mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #10
    By the way, I need to buy some new RAM for my dads desktop PC at home, but the crucial scanner does not work, because the PC was specially built by a store, and the BIOS doesn't hold the manufacturers information, or something like that. How would i find out which RAM would work with that PC?
     
  11. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #11
    What RAM does it use? DDR2 or DDR3? It's easier to buy for PCs as any RAM with matching specs work. You should be able to see what type is the RAM in BIOS
     
  12. alex.purple.mac macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    #12
    Pretty sure its DDR2. Is that the only thing I need to bother with for specification? Its just that I knew macs were very specific and I thought PC's would be too.
     
  13. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #13
    If you buy e.g. Kingston RAM, yes. Make sure it's normal DIMM (not SO-DIMM as that's laptop RAM). Both, 667MHz and 800MHz will work but 800MHz may be underclocked to 667MHz if the memory controller doesn't support +667MHz.
     
  14. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
  15. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #15
  16. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #16
    excellent will prob go for that then...

    not just need to find a decent 500gb hard drive for the macbook now :)
     
  17. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #17
    Western Digital's Scorpio Blue is a great drive, its up to 1TB if you need ever more ;)
     
  18. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #18
    i thought the 1tb ones were 12.5mm thus to big to fit in the macbook?
     
  19. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #19
    All unibody Macs can fit a 12.5mm HD so you shouldn't have any issues
     
  20. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #20
    is their any 7200rpm recommend for macbooks? or are they a bit hit or miss...
     
  21. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
    #21
    Apple doesn't offer 7200rpm drives for 13"ers but many people have upgraded the stock 5400rpm HD to aftermarket 7200rpm. It may cause vibration, heat and battery issues though. They provide speed so it's capacity vs speed
     
  22. heliocentric thread starter Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    #22
    will probably stick to the 500gb wd one then :)

    thanks for the advice
     

Share This Page