MacBook Air Ultimate

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by bambooshots, Jul 25, 2013.

1. bambooshots macrumors 6502a

I've been a lifetime Windows user and may make the switch to Apple's Macs as I don't have the inclination to get acquainted with Win8 and also it seems like the quality of Apple's notebooks are usually higher than most manufacturers.

That said, I'm on a tight time line and would like to be able to pick up a Macbook Air by the end of this week. I wanted to get an i7/8/256 but that needs to be BTO and won't get here in time. However, Apple Stores do usually carry the next upgrade up, the top of the line, "Ultimate" i7/8/512 but of course that's $300 more.

Does anyone here have the Macbook Air Ultimate (i7/8/512)? Was it worth it? Was it worth it to you? If you could do it again would you pick something else? I am a student so I suppose the cost would be $1750 (1850-100) plus tax and whatever accessories I wanted to buy.

Of course it'd be helpful to list what my uses would be: Schoolwork, light gaming: SCII/HOTS, Diablo 3, older Source games (never finished HL2 or any of the sequels). It'd basically be my general computer. I'm pretty mobile and the only reason I don't bring my current 15.4" Sager2090 is because it's old and slow and there's no battery life and the laptop and all the ancillary gear like power brick weighs in at about another 8-10 pounds to whatever it is I'm carrying.

Anyway, sorry if the post seems long and rambling.

Thanks for all your insight.

2. thomas99 macrumors newbie

I honestly find the Macbook Air's are better to get the base model.

They are primarily portable, but assuming you can live with the 128gb I don't think its worth your money spending extra because they are still designed as a bare bones computer.

If you are wanting to game on it have a look at the Macbook Pro, its basically the same prices as a 13 inch air and has significantly better specifications

3. Scott6666 macrumors 65816

Scott6666