Macbook Bootcamp Problems!

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Kickk2Krookk, Jan 23, 2012.

  1. Kickk2Krookk macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    #1
    I have an April 2010 White Macbook, and I recently installed Bootcamp using Windows 7 32bit. I have a problem with the Wi-Fi, it doesen't even reconize it. But that's the least of my concerns, I can't boot back into OSX Lion. Ive tried the option key but all that comes up is a lock. It looks like it wants me to type in a password but ive tried all of them. Any help would be great. :)
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
  3. Kickk2Krookk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
    #3
    After that... Will I be able to boot back into OSX Lion?
     
  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Yes. This should get rid of the lock and let you hit Alt/Option again.

    B
     
  5. Beezzy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    #5
    You need to go back into OSX Lion

    1. Turn off you Mac, then reboot and hold down the option key, then select OSX to go back into your Mac OSX.

    2. Go back into your Boot Camp Assistant and burn a copy of the Apple/Windows Drivers disk onto a blank DVD. Eject the disk when finished

    3. Repeat step one except select Windows at the HDD screen.

    4. Insert your Driver DVD and install.

    5. Restart after install and you should be good to go.
     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    I missed the no WiFi bit, i.e. no Boot Camp Drivers, but you missed that Option doesn't currently work.

    It may be worse than I feared. http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1282557 suggests that the RAM process no longer removes the Firmware password.

    OP do you have a Genius Bar nearby?

    B
     
  7. Kickk2Krookk thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2012
  8. kpgh554 macrumors regular

    kpgh554

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Location:
    iver england
    #8
    if you have a recovery disc or boot disc does it boot from that if so in utilities there is a firmware reset prog. in it not sure how work as never used myself. but maybe someone more savvy might give a tip.
     
  9. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #9
    Yes, sorry Apple Support within the Apple retail stores.

    I believe that is a chicken and egg problem. AFAIK Lion won't boot from the recovery partition or an external (since you can't hit Alt/Option or "C" etc...) without the password.

    B
     

Share This Page