Macbook for autocad/architecture?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by renanrizzardo, Jun 9, 2016.

  1. renanrizzardo macrumors newbie

    renanrizzardo

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    #1
    Can someone help me with indications that work best for Autocad?

    I reallllllly like this new mackbook model, but the specifications are:
    • 256GB PCIe-based onboard flash storage1
    • 1.1GHz dual-core
      Intel Core m3 processor
      Turbo Boost up to 2.2GHz
    • 8GB memory
    • Intel HD Graphics 515
    I'm gonna have problems with autocad?

    Should i go for a thick mac pro?

    13-inch MacBook Pro with Retina display
    • 2.7GHz Dual-core Intel Core i5, Turbo Boost up to 3.1GHz
    • 16GB 1866MHz LPDDR3 SDRAM
    • 128GB PCIe-based Flash Storage
    • Intel Iris Graphics 6100
    • Force Touch trackpad
    • Backlit Keyboard (English) & User's Guide
    I use it everyday, because i'm an architect.


    If you could help, i would be grateful!

    Thanks
     
  2. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    With AutoCAD and creative applications in general, it's always best to get as much power as possible. Will the MacBook run AutoCAD? Yes. Will it be as smooth as on the rMBP? No.

    Plus if you're an architect and you'll be using this computer every day for your livelihood, power and longevity should be considerably more important than ultra-portability.

    In all honesty, I'd suggest waiting until after WWDC, and look towards buying for the 15" rMBP over the 13". The 15" would handle anything you'd throw at it; it's a fantastic machine.
     
  3. 8692574 Suspended

    8692574

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    #3
    The one with the dedicated video card!
     
  4. keysofanxiety macrumors G3

    keysofanxiety

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #4
    Yes, yes, yes! This, OP. Don't get the 15" one with the iGPU.

    Again, I'd hold off until the 15" is updated.
     
  5. Precursor macrumors 6502a

    Precursor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #5
    In this day & age 128 GB storage is already prehistoric
     
  6. killaz05 macrumors member

    killaz05

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Location:
    Brandon, FL
    #6
    Alright well, I use AutoCAD for a living as a Civil Engineer. I do surface creation and some 3D models. At first I tried the 2015 macbook minimum spec and it can do 2D line work fine. I never had a chance to do more on it because it couldn't handle my photography editing needs and I returned it for a 2015 15" with the iGPU. With the quad core and RAM upgrade I could do alot more.

    The 13" is similar but with half the RAM and a dual core. Unless you do very very intensive surface creations, then the min. spec 13" is just fine for you. AutoCAD Civil 3D can only run on windows and I am using Parallels so I needed the 16GB of RAM. I have yet to come across a CAD drawing that gave me an issue. The dGPU would only help if you are rendering intense 3D models in Autodesk 3DS Max or something. Also something to keep in mind is that AutoCAD only utilizes a single processor core. So dual core and Quad core differences won't help you, the speed of the processor will. It utilizes multiple cores for regening purposes and rendering only. Hope this helps!
     
  7. renanrizzardo thread starter macrumors newbie

    renanrizzardo

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    #7
    I guess thats all i needed to hear. I'll wait for the WWDC, of course. Thanks!!!
    --- Post Merged, Jun 9, 2016 ---
    Good to know. i'll keep all of that in mind. thanks!
     
  8. renanrizzardo thread starter macrumors newbie

    renanrizzardo

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    #8
    Yes. Lets hope is gonna chance at the WWDC.
     
  9. Precursor macrumors 6502a

    Precursor

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2015
    Location:
    Istanbul
    #9
    If i were you I'd just buy a rMB now and try it with whatever program I wanna try and return it after WWDC (which is couple days away anyway)
     
  10. Borja1055 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    #10
    Im an engineer and often use AutoCAD on my 2016 rMB 1.2GHz 512GB. It works great and have had no issues with it as far as performance. I do find the screen to be too small for AutoCAD but if you Airplay it on a TV or monitor then it works great.
     
  11. SteveJUAE macrumors 68020

    SteveJUAE

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Location:
    Land of Smiles
    #11
    I have only used AutoCAD a few times on my rMB 2015 1.2 mainly for laying out a small housing estate (65 houses) and it was perfectly fine for this however as some have noted for daily use the Screen size is a bit of a compromise

    I certainly would not opt for the 256gb version especially if you intend to run AutoCAD in bootcamp

    If AutoCAD only addresses a single core then other than screen size you wont be gaining much in performance with higher spec laptops outside the exceptions already noted and maybe money is better spent on a nice portable additional monitor
     
  12. bryan.cfii macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2011
    Location:
    Iowa City, IA
    #12
    I also am an engineer and was considering a macbook and an external monitor. Do you see any issues from displaying on something bigger? I'm wondering how the GPU will hold up. My current set up is a 2K monitor and a late 2011 MBP.
     

Share This Page