Macbook GPU Questios

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dingdongbubble, Aug 28, 2007.

  1. dingdongbubble macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #1
    Hi

    I am interested in a Macbook but I have heard some bad things about the GPU.

    Will it be better than my current desktop PCs GPU(Nvidia GeForce FX5200 128 MB w/o heatsink)

    Does it have a decoder or something like the new iMacs? Will it be able to play high end HD video that really strains the computer?

    Will it be able to play Wolfenstein Enemy Territory?

    Will it be able to carry out low end graphical stuff? Like making buttons for websites?

    What other limitations are there?
     
  2. miniConvert macrumors 68040

    miniConvert

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Location:
    Kent, UK - the 'Garden of England'.
    #2
    Hello :)

    The MacBook has Intel integrated graphics, Intel GMA 950 to be precise. There's lots of information on the forum that you can search for, so I'll just share my thoughts.

    3D games aren't going to run well on it. Most games will run, ie World of Warcraft runs acceptably for some/most people, but not run well. If games are important to you, you'll want to play graphically intensive ones on something else.

    Creating buttons for websites likely doesn't tax the GPU at all. All 2D work is going to be fine.

    Perhaps you could consider the base MBP?
     
  3. dingdongbubble thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #3
    Oh no the MBP would be out of my budget. I dont really think I will be straining the GPU at all. Just feeling a bit skeptical. I dont also play a lot of games maybe an occasional game or two.

    So how do you think the 950GM will compare with my desktop GPU? I can tell you the specs if you want. Also how would the MB GPU compare with my dads Nvidia Geforce 7400Go?
     
  4. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #4
    It's fine for everything except 3D games. High end HD video is 1920 x 1080 pixel, and the MacBook has a 1280 x 800 screen, so I never bothered trying this. 1280 x 800 plays fine.
     
  5. dingdongbubble thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #5
    I am not going to use any high end programs like FCP and Aperture and I wont be playing many games (if I play at all). So you think I will be fine with the 950GM right? But I will how ever be viewing and maybe editing (a bit) photos in iPhoto or GIMP. But nothing too intensive.
     
  6. fredsherbet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Hertford, England
    #6
    It doesn't sound like the gpu is gonna bother you :)

    I have a macbook and love it to bits :p if the graphics card you have in ur desktop is a reflection on the rest of the spec (cpu etc) then the macbook is gonna outperform it in everything (iPhoto, iTunes, web design etc) you do except 3D gaming... but you can still play 3d games, just don't turn the spec high, and be very forgiving :p I'd recommend getting some old school games, like a SNES emulator ;)


    I've never had a problem playing back video on it's main screen or an external monitor/tv (but I haven't thoroughly tested that)
     
  7. dingdongbubble thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #7
    OK my dads PC has a 7400Go GPU and a Core Duo but it still cant play AVCHD clips properly. Its worse than a slide show (almost). Is it the same with the MB?
     
  8. triddent222 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Location:
    Somewhere interesting
    #8
    the Intel 950GM is optimized to run HD Video. If 1080p is about the highest you'll go, then you *should* be fine. If you want a more definite answer, go to an Apple Store and try running HD video from the MacBook.

    The Nvidia 7400Go is in a totall different world. It is not the highest/fastest GPU today, but it is still a dedicated graphics chip, which will be better than the integrated 950GM. Compared to a 5200, the 950GM should be better.
     
  9. dingdongbubble thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    #9
    I guess I will be fine with the Intel GPU cuz I dont think I will be doing any 3D work and I dont mind not playing games.

    BTW apart from high end programs what other low level consumer programs are common which actually need a dedicated GPU to run well?

    Do Aperture or FCE or FCP need a dedicated GPU?
     
  10. vicious7 macrumors 6502a

    vicious7

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Location:
    Jacked into the net...
    #10
    FCE doesn't, IIRC. But FCP and Aperture works better with dedicated VRAM.
     

Share This Page