Macbook or MBP

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by patpatiar`, Jun 28, 2007.

1. patpatiar` macrumors newbie

Hey

I'm relatively new in this mac world but I am convinced that Mac is the way to go, I have been a windows user for my entire life and I am decided to make the jump for better to worse...

I need to purchase a new laptop for UNI next year but have no clue which one to buy. With this laptop I am going to use it as much as I can because it is my only computer therefore I think the MBP would be a good choice, but is it logical to spend that much money, and would the MacBook meet all of my needs (dvd burning, music, photos, games, bootcamp for windows, word processing etc)

ANY help/advice is greatly appreciated...
    As for the price- I am able to get a student discount on the mac which i purchase but am still unsure which one to get.

2. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp

I'd get the MacBook. It's more rugged, cheaper to repair if something goes wrong and the HDD can be upgraded by the user.

The MacBook Pro is IMO, a better machine overall, but it's easily dented and slightly bigger, whilst also being more expensive to purchase AND repair.

Although if it's going to be used as a desktop replacement, I'd say MacBook Pro. I've had both and the MacBook Pro is a far nice machine to use. The latest ones are cooler than the MacBooks, have much better displays with more work space, are considerably faster and look nicer IMO.

3. patpatiar` thread starter macrumors newbie

ya
    It is going to be used as a desktop repleacement, so the MBP will better fullfill my needs????

4. Father Jack macrumors 68020

Father Jack

As games need to be played, the MB Pro would be the better option. :)

5. Osarkon macrumors 68020

Osarkon

If you're going to be playing games like you said you were, then definitely go for the Macbook Pro.

6. Killyp macrumors 68040

Killyp