Resolved Macbook Pro 17" won't run Steam on Windows / Recognize AMD GPU

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by SPNarwhal, Feb 16, 2014.

  1. SPNarwhal, Feb 16, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2014

    SPNarwhal macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #1
    SOLVED
    SUPPORT SOFTWARE FOUND HERE

    http://support.apple.com/downloads/#macoscomponents
    -------------------------------------------------------------

    Just got a 17" Macbook Pro (2.3 i7- early 2011)

    This thing has two graphics cards: An Intel, and an AMD
    (AMD is 1gb VRAM, Intel is 512mb)

    Anywho, so I've been playing Borderlands 2 on Steam (on Windows) for the last few weeks on my 13" just fine. I got my 17" today and installed my drive and such, go to open Borderlands 2 and I get an Error

    "Your video card does not support alpha blending with floating point render targets (D3DFMT_A16B16G16R16F), which is required to run this game. Exiting.."

    Any idea on how to fix this? I assume the problem lies within the graphic switching of the laptop or something like that.. is there a program or way in general to set a specific card to be running?

    Really have no idea what to do at this moment; I don't know too much about Windows.
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    The 2011 MBP has a dedicated AMD GPU (dGPU) and an integrated graphics processor (IGP) from Intel:

    http://www.everymac.com/systems/app...-17-early-2011-unibody-thunderbolt-specs.html

    Have you tried gfxCardStatus to switch between dGPU and IGP?
     
  3. SPNarwhal thread starter macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #3
    I know about that for Mac, but that program doesn't work for Windows.
    I know about the two different cards, but I assume they are what is causing this problem on Windows. (I got it to work fine on Mac, but I need it to work on Windows.)
     
  4. simon48 macrumors 65816

    simon48

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    #4
    You can only use your dGPU in Windows if you have 2 GPUs. It sounds like your AMD GPU is not supported.
     
  5. SPNarwhal thread starter macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #5
    It must be supported because while running Steam on Mac it uses the AMD to run games. How could Steam support AMD while on Mac, but not while on Windows?
     
  6. Freyqq macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #6
    Bootcamp only uses the dgpu. The igpu isn't even detected by windows. I'd try reinstalling the video card drivers from AMD and reinstalling borderlands 2. Steam is not the issue. All steam does is manage the game files for you.
     
  7. SVT Amateur macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tyler, Texas
    #7
    I have an early 2011 15" MacBook Pro that was able to run Steam games fine in Windows (I've since given this computer to my wife).

    Have you updated your video drivers? I would go here and get the correct updated drivers for your card:

    http://support.amd.com/en-us/download
     
  8. SPNarwhal thread starter macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #8
    Literally just tried to do that before seeing your message and I went to install the driver and it tells me that my "computer does not contain a proper graphics adapter"


    ???
     
  9. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #9
    When in Windows, what shows up as graphics adapter or similar in your Hardware Manager?
     
  10. SPNarwhal thread starter macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #10
    "Standard VGA Graphics Adapter"
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    Does the Radeon show up in OS X?

    Edit: Just noticed that you said Borderlands works in OS X, but was that using the Radeon or just the Intel?
     
  12. SPNarwhal thread starter macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #12
    Radeon. As soon as I start up Steam/Borderlands it switches from Intel to AMD (as it should)

    Windows seems to not even recognize it for what it is specifically, just a "Standard VGA Graphics Adapter"
    If I go into details it says I only have 16mb of usable Video Memory, which obviously is not true.

    ----------

    Just looked at Apple's Bootcamp Support Software downloads and it looks like they released one just a few days ago for some specific models (including mine)

    Downloading that right now to see if that will help anything. Fingers crossed!
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #13
    Good, so it's definitely not a hardware issue. Good luck with the drivers!
     
  14. SPNarwhal thread starter macrumors 65816

    SPNarwhal

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2009
    Location:
    illinois
    #14
    All better!

    I guess my timing was perfect on this one, seeing as I've been in the market for a 17" for at least a month now, and now that I finally got one, Apple just released the remedy for this 5 days ago.

    Anywho, here is a link to the support software for any future problem-goers.
    What a loop this was; I tried everything I could think of, including altering the program files.

    http://support.apple.com/downloads/#macoscomponents

    Thank you for all the support!

    Case closed!
     
  15. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand

Share This Page