MacBook Pro 2012 13inch SATA-III for Superdrive?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by senthor, Jun 16, 2012.

  1. senthor macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #1
    Hey!
    I plan to purchase a MacBook Pro 13 inch. I'm upgrading from the base 2009 model with 8GB RAM, Samsung SSD 830 128GB and Samsung HN-M101MBB 1TB.
    Has anyone received his 13 inch 2012 MPB yet? If yes - does it ship with dual SATA-III connectors? The 2011 model was kind of a mess…
    I want to upgrade the new MBP with my SSD in an Optibay, the HDD will go to the default bay. Why? Because the optibay cannot compare to the Apple bay in terms of vibration and noise reduction.
    So it would be nice to know if the SSD is going to get full performance in the Optibay.

    I will post benchmark results here. This is for the 2009 model:
    Base MBP5,5 with Intel Core 2 Duo P7550 @ 2,26GHz, 2GB DDR-III 1066 RAM, HDD:
    3019 Geekbench points
    Upgraded: 8GB DDR-III 1066 RAM, Samsung SSD 830 128GB @ SATA-II:
    3598 Geekbench points, 152,41 XBench points
    Geekbench comparison MBP5,5 base vs MBP5,5 upgraded
    XBench results MBP5,5 upgraded

    2012:
    Base MBP9,2 with Intel Core-i5 3210M @ 2,5GHz, 4GB DDR-III 1600 RAM, HDD:
    7442 Geekbench points
    Upgraded: 8GB DDR-III 1600 RAM, Samsung SSD 830 128GB @ SATA-III:
    Will post as soon as arrives.
    Geekbench comparison MBP9,2 base vs. MBP9,2 upgraded
    XBench results MBP9,2 upgraded


    Geekbench comparison MBP5,5 upgraded vs MBP9,2 base
    Woah! That's at least a doubled score! :D
     
  2. CosmoPilot macrumors 65816

    CosmoPilot

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    South Carolina
    #2
    Wirelessly posted

    I believe all 13 & 15 new MBPs have SATA III in the opti bay.
     
  3. angelsguardian macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    #3
    I've not taken my 2012 apart yet but the 2011 was 6gbps in the opti bay where the 15" wasn't so would be surprised if that had changed.
     
  4. ssn637 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #4
    According to OWC the MacBook Pro 2012 13" model has a SATA II interface to the OptiBay.
     
  5. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #5
    SATA-III in the OptiBay requires a better cable, with a better shielding, because SATA-III uses higher frequencies.
     
  6. senthor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #6
    @angelsguardian: just look in system report, and then serial ata.
    @Mr Retrofire: from what i read, the initial problems with ssd in the optibay were solved by an efi update.
     
  7. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #7
    You cannot solve a shielding issue with a firmware update.
     
  8. senthor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
  9. sweetbrat macrumors 65816

    sweetbrat

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Location:
    Redford, MI
    #9
    Did you read the article?
    "Very important points though concerning the optical bay. #1 – if your MacBook Pro 2011 model currently has SATA 2.0 3Gb/s reported for your optical bay max link speed, this EFI update does not change that to SATA 3.0 6Gb/s."

    So that didn't change the optical bay to SATA 3. It was still only usable at SATA 2 speeds. It made performance in the main drive bay more stable.
     
  10. senthor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #10
    Yes, I did read the article.
    If your DVD-bay SATA doesn't ship with SATA 3 it won't do after the update.
    But the important sentence is the last one:
    "We will continue to review possible solutions for the optical bay, as 15″ and 17″ owners may be rightly jealous of the near 1GB (1000MB/s) data rates currently achievable in MacBook Pro 13″ models with two OWC 6G SSDs in a RAID 0 configuration."
    This can only be achieved with two SSDs connected via SATA-III.
     
  11. Cubeeless macrumors regular

    Cubeeless

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #11
    I have looked this up on a 13 mbp mid 2012

    Intel 7 Series Chipset:

    Vendor: Intel
    Product: 7 Series Chipset
    Link Speed: 6 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Description: AHCI Version 1.30 Supported

    What is the difference between Link Speed and Negotiated Link Speed?
     
  12. senthor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #12
    Negotiated link speed is the speed that is actually used.
    I pressume the connected device was a superdrive? If yes: superdrives come with sata-II, so that wouldn't be a surprise...
     
  13. maxfischersweet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #13
    yes I'm looking for something that shows me they are using SATA3 or 2 in the 2012 models too. I chatted online and called apple, they told me they "don't have the specifics on those specifics" whatever that means.

    i have been trying to figure this out in the "macbook pro redesign" sticky thread, but no ones gives a damn there.

    i have always used the optibay in all my macbook pros as well. i just want to know whats being used in both bays.
     
  14. Cubeeless macrumors regular

    Cubeeless

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #14

    Tell me how I can check this and I will do that on a mbp 13 mid 2012
     
  15. batlogic macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #15
  16. biohead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    West Drayton, UK
    #16
    From my system profiler, from the Superdrive part:

     

    Attached Files:

  17. maxfischersweet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #17
    yes, i am aware of this blog, everyone points to it thinking it answers the question. no where in that blog does it say they are using sata3. 6gb/s drives are backwards compatible with sata2.

    ----------

    see now that helps.

    what about the hard drive bay?

    if its the same, it does seem to indicate SATA3
     
  18. Mr. Retrofire macrumors 601

    Mr. Retrofire

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Location:
    www.emiliana.cl/en
    #18
    No, 1.5 GBit/s negotiated link speed is SATA-I, not SATA-III.
     
  19. Cubeeless macrumors regular

    Cubeeless

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #19
    Its 6 gigabit link speed and 3 gigabit negotiated for the hard disk and 6 and 1.5 for the DVD drive

    Is it SATA III?
     
  20. maxfischersweet macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    #20
    my mid 2009 13" macbook pro says this on both optical bay and hdd bay


    Link Speed: 3 Gigabit
    Negotiated Link Speed: 3 Gigabit

    why would they now be less in a way newer machine.

    if they both say 6 gig anywhere i imagine they are both sata3. can anyone confirm this.

    ----------

    the 1.5 may just be what the superdrive is using or will use. since its a dvd player it can't even take full advantage of sata2 or even 3.

    however i have no idea, this is guessing
     
  21. biohead macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    West Drayton, UK
    #21
    Link speed is 6Gbit/s so it is indeed SATA-III capable. Obviously the HDD only runs at SATA-II speeds, and ODD only at SATA-I speed, but thats down to the devices, not the interface of the MBP.

    HDD:
    Link speed = 6Gbit/s
    Neg speed = 3Gbit/s

    ODD:
    Link speed = 6Gbit/s
    Neg speed = 1.5Gbit/s
     
  22. senthor thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    #22
    Another question:
    Can I move my drives directly, or do I have to reinstall OS X and transfer the files?
    Are the drivers already included in OS X 10.7.4, or does it download the drivers when running Software Update?
    Thanks!
     
  23. Cubeeless macrumors regular

    Cubeeless

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #23
    I have installed today the ram and memory by myself.

    First you need to connect the SSD with your mac and make a 1:1 clone of your hdd on the sad, then you can exchange it nd it will boot normal.

    To connect the sad you need a kit where where u can afterwards put the hdd in as and external hard drive.

    BTW its SATA 3 Speed for both now 6gbits ;)))
     
  24. ohbrilliance macrumors 6502a

    ohbrilliance

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #24
    I have no idea if this issue is still current, but in my 2007 MBP the computer won't go to sleep unless the boot drive is in the original HDD bay. In my case I had to move the SSD to the HDD bay (and hence the regular HDD in the OptiBay, devoid of any extra shock protection features).

    Is this still a current issue?
     
  25. Cubeeless macrumors regular

    Cubeeless

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2012
    #25
    I don't think that the macbook really matters in which "are" the boot disk is.
     

Share This Page